We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Restaurant”

Black Woods Grill & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Woods Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 285 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is fine dining for everyone. A place where you'll find a favorite dish and a dining experience that fits your personality. All Black Woods restaurants feature a full bar and Happy Hour specials. Visit us in Duluth, Proctor or Two Harbors.
Reviewed July 10, 2016

We were in Duluth for the air show and stopped at Black Woods Bar & Grill for dinner. What a great choice that turned out to be! Everything was great from the food, super friendly and efficient employees, great views of the lake, etc. Our meals ranged from Ribs, Bison burger, Pasta, etc and all were fantastic. For such a nice restaurant prices also seems quite reasonable. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bphawk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

Thank you so much for this review and for choosing to join us during your trip to Duluth for the Air Show! We are so glad that our culinary and service staff made your visit five-star worthy and that you enjoyed every meal that you ordered :-). We thank you for your recommendation and hope you will be back next time you are in our beautiful city. Safe travels home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 507 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2016

Backwoods ROCKS

From entering the building to exiting, our experience was wonderful. The staff always willing to help, food delicious, drinks cold, atmosphere perfect, price affordable. Recommend for sure, one of our favorite spots for going out.

Date of visit: June 2016
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank cjmcleods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

Wow - thank you so much for this glowing review! "One of our favorite spots for going out" - we love to read this! We are proud to read that you have enjoyed your experiences with us from "entering the building to exiting" :-). Thank you for your continued business and for your recommendation to family, friends, and our viewers! Cheers to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016

We made a reservation for our group of 34 about 5 days in advance. We ended up eating earlier than we would have liked, but this is because we didn't call far enough in advance (our own fault). We had a fabulous time, where the kids (~15 kids, age 8-13) had food they liked, and the adults had a good time as well. No complaints. Great service, great food.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank Kallie_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

Kallie, thank you for your positive review regarding your recent visit in to dine with us with your large party of 34 people! We are happy to see that our staff was able to get your group in with only a few days notice and that everyone had a fabulous time! We hope to see you all back in again in the future. Thank you for choosing Black Woods for your meal together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

It's a very nice and clean restaurant with a good view of the lake. The food is very good. There was seven in our group and there was no complaints. Get a lot of food. The bloody Mary's are very good to. Reasonable price. Had Caesar salad and that was very good also. Will definitely be stopping and eating there again.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank clinta74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

Thank you for your business to our restaurant! We are delighted to see that you enjoyed a five star experience with your group of seven and that all of you enjoyed your meals and drinks! We can't wait to see you back in again very soon to dine with us! Thank you for your continued business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

The food and service at Blackwoods is excellent. However, the restaurant offered a$10 certificate if you signed onto their email membership.
Both me, and my fiance signed up, (which by the time we finished, our soup was cold), and it's been more than a couple weeks, and an email sent to them, and still...neither of us have received the $10 certificate that was offered to come in email. I still have not received a response to my email either.
Pretty disappointed, that this seems to be a ploy, to get our email addresses, yo send us this type of email just to rate them.

Date of visit: June 2016
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
3  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Susan, thank you for your positive review of our Black Woods restaurant in Duluth! We are happy to read that the food and service was excellent but disappointed to see that you did not have success with signing up with our eClub. We would love to get in touch with you to make sure that we can get this taken care of right away. Please send your name and title of review to catherinec@blackwoods.com so that we can connect and ensure that you get your sign up certificate and additional coupons right away. We look forward to hearing from you Susan. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and for you business to our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Woods Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Black Woods Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing