We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat!”

Black Woods Grill & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Woods Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 285 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is fine dining for everyone. A place where you'll find a favorite dish and a dining experience that fits your personality. All Black Woods restaurants feature a full bar and Happy Hour specials. Visit us in Duluth, Proctor or Two Harbors.
Reviewed July 23, 2015

We had a group of three adults and six children on a Wednesday night, we walked over from the water park. We were surprised to have about a ten minute wait. Although a wait during the week is usually a good sign. We got a big table on the window side so we could see the lake. A great spot. Andrea was our server and she was fantastic. She knew the menu and worked well with the kids. The food items are a step or two up from bar and grill food. However the favors and varieties are wonderful. Prices are a bit higher as well. However the kids meals are 6.95 and include drink and dessert. We will go again!

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2015

Jessica, thank you so much for your wonderful review of Black Woods! We hope that the next time you and your group are in the Duluth that you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again! Thank you for your business to our local restaurant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

986 - 990 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2015 via mobile

We were staying the night in Duluth and found this restaurant near our hotel. The atmosphere we comfortable; service by our waiter, Mitchell, outstanding and the food was tasty. My wife had the flat bread appetizer and I had the chicken pot pie which were both reasonably priced and delicious.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank rehclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2015

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and comments about Mitchell! We are so thankful for your business while visiting Duluth and hope to see you back the next time you are in the area! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2015

I enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. The darker lighting and the pomegranate spinach salad were excellent. A wonderful place to take visiting family.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2015

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments - we can't wait to see you and your family back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2015

If you are seated by the windows, you will have a breath taking view of the lake, unless it's foggy, in which case I recommend bringing good company.

Pricing is not outrages, but for supper range from about about $14.00 to call the credit card company and ask for a balance increase. The food was good, but not outstanding. The service was excellent and refills were done without request or service charge.

We will return again next visit and did I mention the view.

Good luck, have fun and may there be no surprises on your trip.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2015

Larry, thank you for your review of our local restaurant! We greatly appreciate your continued business to Black Woods! We are so thankful for your visit each time you are in Duluth and look forward to continuing that tradition with you next time! Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2015

Delicious food and so many options! I am a vegetarian and sometimes its hard to find food that I like when going out to eat, but there were a lot of great options for me. The Wild Rice Burger is my favorite. Also the Mac & Cheese is phenomenal! Great Service and a beautiful view!

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2015

Thank you so much for your great review, Nicole! We are so excited to hear about your experience and can;t wait to have you back again soon to try more of our vegetarian items!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Woods Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Black Woods Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing