We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food with a BEAUTIFUL View!”

Black Woods Grill & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Woods Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 285 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is fine dining for everyone. A place where you'll find a favorite dish and a dining experience that fits your personality. All Black Woods restaurants feature a full bar and Happy Hour specials. Visit us in Duluth, Proctor or Two Harbors.
Reviewed February 14, 2015

My husband and I visited on Valentines day, and were seated in the lake superior room right next to giant windows overlooking the lake! Besides the wonderful view and great decor, the cocktails and food were delectable! They have a wide variety of choices. My husband devoured the BBQ bacon cheeseburger (homemade BBQ sauce!) and I had Pasta Santino.

I could go on and on about this place. We will definitely be stopping here every time we are in Duluth!

Date of visit: February 2015
Thank ltracy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2015

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review of Black Woods! We greatly appreciate your business to our local restaurant and for taking the time to review us online. We look forward to seeing you again soon for another meal! Thank you for celebrating Valentine's Day with us!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,108 - 1,112 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2015

Our two families - including 3 children - were looking for a nice restaurant with good food. The kids were happy with their food - salmon, prime rib and an item from the kids menu - as were the adults - Ahi tuna, prime rib and salad. The cheese curds and steak bit apps were also enjoyed. We were here on a Saturday night at 7pm so it was a little loud at first - fine by us as we had kids - but not good if you were considering a nice quiet romantic dinner. The location is at the East end of Duluth, a quick walk from The Edge Waterpark & Hotel - and an easy drive from most locations within Duluth. We will definitely consider Blackwood's next time we visit Duluth.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DeanaH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2015

Thank you for your review of Black Woods. We appreciate your comments and business to our local restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2015

Went to grab lunch and there is a fantastic view looking out to Lake Superior! They have way more options than a typical "burger-joint", but that was just the vibe that I got from the place! They have a very nice, fancier bar that would be a great place to hang at night and get any type of drink that you would like!

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2015

Thank you for your review of Black Woods. We appreciate your comments and business to our local restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2015

We are from WI and we know our cheese curds and they were not good here but the rest of the food was wonderful. We had a bison burger and the pasta luca brasi and they were delicious. The showstopper that you need to save room for is the Passion wave chocolate cake. It is so moist and so yummy you will remember it for days.

Date of visit: February 2015
Thank 95tigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2015

Thank you for your review of Black Woods. We appreciate your comments and business to our local restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2015

Not impressed with the food here. The cheese curds were greasy. My steak was suppose to be medium and there was no pink in the meat at all. My husband & son had burgers and they said there wasn't a lot of flavor in the meat. Thought we would give this place a try since its been many years since we've eaten here. We will stick to the other restaurants in the area that continually have good food. One other thing that made our visit a little unpleasant was the thick dust you could see on the trim piece running along the wall. In between each booth you could see that they didn't even try to dust there.

Date of visit: January 2015
1  Thank rdkalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2015

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your honesty in feedback and your business to our local restaurant. We hope to have you try us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Woods Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Black Woods Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing