We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The specials are to die for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Woods Grill & Bar

Black Woods Grill & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Woods Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 247 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Healthy, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is fine dining for everyone. A place where you'll find a favorite dish and a dining experience that fits your personality. All Black Woods restaurants feature a full bar and Happy Hour specials. Visit us in Duluth, Proctor or Two Harbors.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The specials are to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprise at the quality of the food. What a Bargin. The service is excellent The food is very delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank northwoodsbill_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    269
    91
    51
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, nice view, but I miss my old favorite dessert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I've been eating here going back to the 90's when I first found it. Haven't had a chance to stop in since moving south back in 2002. So I had to stop in when in Duluth on business recently. The walleye is as good as I remember it being, and the waitress was great. Sadly, my favorite old dessert, a 3 layer chocolate torte, is no longer on the menu and apparently hasn't been for some time since the waitress had never heard of it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for stopping by Black Woods again! Thank you for your business. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great choice if you are staying at the edgewater hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is across the street from the edgewater. I would call it a slightly upscale Fridays or chiles. The food was good and reasonably priced. You also get a $5 off coupon at the hotel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Madrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you again at Black Woods soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were a party of seven including 2 young boys. Our server was so sweet and kind and prompt. I had the Bloody Mary and it was meal in itself with all the veggies and shrimp. I ordered the BW Benedict and it was wonderful. Everyone who ordered hash browns raved about them. The cranberry orange toast was out of this world. We ordered fruit for one of the children and it came served in a beautiful petite trifle dish and was loaded with seasonal fruit. All of our food came at the same time and was piping hot. Would definitely come again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nursusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you so kindly for your your review. We greatly appreciate your business to Black Woods! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wouldn't Go Back!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My daughter graduated from Nursing School at CSS and we decided to have a wonderful graduation dinner at Black Woods. As it turned out we kept up the cheer but our order of food was something to be desired. I ordered the beef tips medium with bourbon sauce. They were well done and no sauce came with them. The mashed potatoes were reheated, the vegetables were cold. I asked where the sauce was and I received a cold sauce that tasted like chipotle. The waitress talked to the manager and he told her to comp me my meal which she did, but, my daughter tasted her crab cake and couldn't eat it because it was so fishy. My wife tried the crab cake and ate a little of it, she really likes crab. Later that day my wife got sick. My wife ordered the seafood pasta and thought it was okay. We still enjoyed our day but were definitely disappointed with our meal. The view was great from our table but I don't believe the quality of food was up to the ambience needed for the dinner. Greatly disappointed!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neve7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your honesty and feedback. We greatly appreciate your comments. We would greatly appreciate connecting with your further to discuss your experience. Please contact us by e-mail or phone.
KatieM@blackwoods.com
218.625.6114

Sincerely,
Katie Marturano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Woods Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing