We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food that is not cheap.”

Black Woods Grill & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Woods Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 257 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is fine dining for everyone. A place where you'll find a favorite dish and a dining experience that fits your personality. All Black Woods restaurants feature a full bar and Happy Hour specials. Visit us in Duluth, Proctor or Two Harbors.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Average food that is not cheap.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have gone to Black Woods off and on over the years and I think I am coming to the view that this better than Perkins, at about twice the price. It is not that the food is bad, its not. It is fine, if uninspiring food. It is just that the value is not there at all for me. There are lots of other better places to get about the same quality for less money. Service is very up and down. Sometimes you get a great person, other times...not so much. I do not go out of my way to eat there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your honesty and feedback. We appreciate your business to Black Woods and hope to have you dine with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    689
    290
    102
    55
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Good food nice people”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Ordered the Ribs and family had Burgers.
the people were very friendly and service was good we have 2 small children they were very accommodating. food was a little wait but views were nice. 1 mistake on order but waitress quickly corrected it.
we stopped by, I noticed that the wait Friday night was crazy long, so we came back Saturday late afternoon.
i would go back .

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We hope to see you at Black Woods again soon!

Sincerely,

Katie Marturano
Marketing Director
New London Corporation - Black Woods Grill & Bar, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom by Black Woods, Black Woods Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice meal for those wanting not to cook or clean up a mess. Only complaint I could muster was a bit to much salt on the boneless turkey.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! We appreciate celebrating Thanksgiving with you! We look forward to seeing you at Black Woods again soon. Happy Holidays!

Thank you,

Katie Marturano
Marketing & Events Director
New London Corporation - Black Woods Grill & Bar, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom by Black Woods, Black Woods Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake Views”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Food is good and the atmosphere is very nice. Try the homemade chicken potpie or fire-grill entrees, they are very good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Care65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you at Black Woods again soon!

Thank you,

Katie Marturano
Marketing & Events Director
New London Corporation - Black Woods Grill & Bar, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom by Black Woods, Black Woods Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The food was excellent. Our server, Toni, was both friendly and professional. We had a group of 9 people and she handled the large group without a hitch. The atmosphere was fun and lively. We will absolutely be back here!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBJuneBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so very much for your review! We greatly appreciate your feedback.
Look forward to seeing you at Black Woods again, soon!

Many Thanks,

Katie Marturano
Marketing Director
New London Corporation - Black Woods Grill & Bar, Black Water Lounge, Greysolon Ballroom by Black Woods, Black Woods Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Woods Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Black Woods Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing