We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eh!”
Review of Five Guys

Five Guys
Ranked #179 of 257 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
127 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Eh!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Judging by the headlines posted at the restaurant, the DC area must really love Five Guys. We had a burger, fries, and the vegan sandwich. Nothing was remarkable which would make me search them out in the future.. Makes me wonder how bad the burger scene is in DC.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trolleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chisholm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Five Guys Burgers and Fries = Five STAR burgers and fries!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

After arriving in Duluth, we were starving and needed a place to eat. We figured we would try FIVE GUYS for the 1st time. We were in for a treat! We ate one of the best burgers in a long time and some 5 star fries. The staff is super friendly! If you want a yummy burger and fresh hand cut fries in Duluth, this place has the best food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
301 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“The best burger in town! 🍔🍟”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Why would anyone in their right mind go anywhere else for a burger? Made fresh, right in front of you, made to order, big, juicy,delicious... Need I go on? Portions are huge & the staff is always pleasant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bergdorfblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mich
Level Contributor
720 reviews
338 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Always a great burger and fries. Can't go wrong!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you want a fresh reliably good hamburger and fries, go no further. Five guys is about the best you can get. You get large portions and fresh food. Nothing is frozen. Whenever we need a comfort food, ie. hamburgers we stop by. You get plenty of food so 2 people can easily split an order of fries. We even split the hamburger but it's messy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babbitt, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“High Five To Five Guys!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have seen shows about the history on Five Guys, and a lot of people we know have tried Five Guys. On July 13, 2013, our family went to try Five Guys. I did not call ahead to ask about handicapped accessibility, or if was kid friendly, but we were excited to try it.

We brought both wheelchairs because we were going to see a movie afterwards. I went in with the 32" chair just to be on the safe side. The first set of doors were double but no bar in the middle, which then made me hopeful that the 36" chair would fit inside. Nope, the second set of doors only the 32" would fit, unless I would have pivoted.

Once inside, we noticed other patrons getting salted peanuts in the shell to eat. We didn't see a sign saying free peanuts. but assumed it was ok. The peanuts were a nice added snack while we waited for our food.

On the walls, for their decor, were awards and news articles they had been in. I remember from the show I watched that the five squares on the wall represents the five brothers. Colors were white and red, with a decent size dining area. It worked fine for the 32" chair, but not for the bigger one.

We got up to the menu, and the cashier asked what we would like to order. I told her that we are first timers at Five Guys. She was very friendly and helpful explaining the menu. The Little Burgers are single patties, the others are double. It was amazing to see the toppings were free, and the fries you can order Five Guy style or Cajun style. We asked if the Cajun seasoning was really spicy, and she said it has some kick to it. She offered to put some of the Cajun seasoning in a container on the side, so that we could try it.

After paying, they give you a number that they will call out when food is ready. We sat at the table listening to the upbeat music and watching the cooks work in unison while waiting for our number to be called.

One thing we ask is why use canned mushrooms on good quality restaurant food? You have fresh tomatoes, lettuce, you even post where you got your potatoes. So why serve processed, spongy, canned mushrooms when fresh would taste so much better? Hope to see this changed on our next visit.

Jodi ordered a Bacon Cheeseburger with onions, mayo, and mushrooms. She really liked the burger. She said it tasted really good and liked the simpleness of the wrappers. It let the food be the star.

KayMarie ordered a Bacon Cheeseburger with pickles, tomatoes, mushrooms, and A1 Sauce.

Brian ordered a Bacon Cheeseburger as well, but all the way. I asked how much would it cost to add jalapeños, and the cashier said it costs nothing. I really liked the burger a lot. It tasted so good, but it needed fresh mushrooms.

Christopher and Jonathan had a Little Bacon Cheeseburger with pickles, tomatoes, onions, ketchup, mustard, and mushrooms. They liked their burgers a lot. They got so full.

We liked the fries a lot. They seemed like the old-fashioned fries you get at a carnival. They were in a cup in a brown paper bag, with a side cup of Cajun seasoning. Next time, we would like to try the seasoning cooked with the fries. Brian really enjoyed that they offered malt vinegar. He says it brought back memories as a child at the fair.

Five Guys in Duluth, MN, is a STOP IN, kick back, enjoy the music, and the burgers, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naykki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Five Guys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing