We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant

Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant
Ranked #81 of 247 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At Sammy's, fresh, quality ingredients are combined with pizza-making artistry. We offer dine-in and carry-out and serve an all-you-can-eat buffet daily from 11 a.m. - 2 p.m. Pizza Hall of Fame Inductee (2015).
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Went to Sammy's with the parents and players from our peewee hockey team for lunch. Several locals and 20 kids with parents filled the place. Great experience and super food for a very reasonable price. Wait staff and kitchen staff made the team at home. Well done Cloquet Sammy's!

Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We love Sammy's and our last trip there was no different. Yummy bread sticks, the boys had pasta and loved the great portions (filled teenage boys up). We ordered the House Special on Wheat--amazing, like always! Great service and wonderful food. Highly recommend this restaurant!! It is the taste of Duluth, for sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maestraWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Great service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Pizza is good but not the best ever like they claim. I will say though if ya have food allergies the staff is so knowalagable. We had the veggie and added Itailan pork on top. It was the best. Wish there were more crust though and sauce.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

fabulous crust, sauce. Highly recommend this pizza. We took ours to go, but it is a nice spot if you wish to eat in.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rose-Grows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“SAMMY'S PIZZA IS STILL THE BEST EVEN AFTER 55+ YEARS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have since moved away from Duluth MN. but we do come back for a visit every so oftern and remembering the great taste of a Sammy's Pizza brings us back there on everyone of our visits over the past 28 years. We go to the one in West Duluth because the original owners were my cousins even though all the others have the same recipe.

I've had pizza pretty much all over the USA and Italy. I have to say they have one of the best tasting crspy crust pizzas you will find anywhere. We love the ground beef with onions and no matter where we go no one can duplicate the taste we get out of a SAMMY'S PIZZA with the same ingredients!! This time around we went there twice because our motto is don't reinvent the wheel of food when a place is working for you. Ciao Bello mi amicis

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TOMARO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing