We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great service and atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant

Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant
Ranked #80 of 247 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At Sammy's, fresh, quality ingredients are combined with pizza-making artistry. We offer dine-in and carry-out and serve an all-you-can-eat buffet daily from 11 a.m. - 2 p.m. Pizza Hall of Fame Inductee (2015).
Maple Grove
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Great service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Pizza is good but not the best ever like they claim. I will say though if ya have food allergies the staff is so knowalagable. We had the veggie and added Itailan pork on top. It was the best. Wish there were more crust though and sauce.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

fabulous crust, sauce. Highly recommend this pizza. We took ours to go, but it is a nice spot if you wish to eat in.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rose-Grows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“SAMMY'S PIZZA IS STILL THE BEST EVEN AFTER 55+ YEARS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have since moved away from Duluth MN. but we do come back for a visit every so oftern and remembering the great taste of a Sammy's Pizza brings us back there on everyone of our visits over the past 28 years. We go to the one in West Duluth because the original owners were my cousins even though all the others have the same recipe.

I've had pizza pretty much all over the USA and Italy. I have to say they have one of the best tasting crspy crust pizzas you will find anywhere. We love the ground beef with onions and no matter where we go no one can duplicate the taste we get out of a SAMMY'S PIZZA with the same ingredients!! This time around we went there twice because our motto is don't reinvent the wheel of food when a place is working for you. Ciao Bello mi amicis

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TOMARO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheney, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The pizza is cut in odd little squares.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Maybe it is just a regional thing, but doesn't most pizza places have supreme pizzas? Well, not here. We were suggested to get the house special. It came with salami on it - in fact, salami was on several of the pizzas. It was just an odd taste and texture. Pepperoni, yes - Salami, no.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“probably the best pizza place in Duluth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

this is a family tradition of mine to visit this restaurant, not a crowded place. they have coke products, and amazing pizza's, sandwhiches, soups... etc but if you go there you must have their pizza. owners are friendly and the pizza comws out HOT idont know what rhe guy below is talking about. prices arent bad either, $30 for 2 HUGE family size pizza's with 1 topping each is not a ba deal. feeds approx. 7-8 people. overall great exporance and will be back soon!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CMN96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing