We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grandma's Saloon & Grill

Grandma's Saloon & Grill
Ranked #48 of 252 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since 1976 Grandma’s Saloon & Grill has been a casual but lively adventure to the past where value and customer service are at the center of everything we do. You’re surrounded by authentic antiques, collectibles, and an eager staff ready and willing to please. The award winning food includes overstuffed sandwiches and burgers; USDA choice steaks; house specialty pasta and wild rice dishes; appetizers include nationally recognized homemade onion rings, chicken wings, and stuffed mushrooms. It’s an eyeful as well as a mouthful. The legacy of customer satisfaction has been handed down by the Italian immigrant who started it all, “Grandma” Rosa Brochi. Everything she did in her early boarding house business included “100% customer satisfaction,” words that we still live by today. Grandma’s Saloon & Grill is real history, real antiques, real service, and really good food! A dining experience of legendary indulgence.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

The food was wonderful. My husband had the walleye and I enjoyed the salmon dinner. While it was very busy on July 4th the service was great. Portions are very large. We could have easily split a meal and had leftovers!!!!!!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 43kem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    87
    39
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owatonna
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is a MUST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Definitely need to eat here at least ONCE while visiting Duluth. On a Saturday night I expected a wait but it was only 20-30 min. at 7pm. While we waited we just grabbed a drink at the bar. Bartenders were nice, good drinks too! Our meals were awesome. Waiter was fast & wonderful. I did not have one complaint about it. Recommended for everyone!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HollyJean21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family Reunion! Great place in Duluth! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Great. Great. Great.
Great service and food!
Great booth seating for families!
(Fun little merchandise shop too.)

Our group was a little difficult to say the least and the staff did a great job taking care of us.
Great food options and great value.

Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Level Contributor
364 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Was visiting the area for Grandma's Marathon and this was the closest restaurant to our hotel, plus we liked the name Grandma's. Liked the variety in the menu, we ate there twice and service was awesome each time. It was pretty crowded each time as well but our only wait was 15 minutes. Food was great, between the two of us, we had the Wild Rice Soup, Bratwurst, Burger and Chicken Pot Pie and were happy with all,

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tiagayepfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
167 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good Family Resturant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I enjoyed the friendly and quick service at both of the Restaurants, one by the Mall and the other at the Breakwater at the Harbor area.

Their selection of Tee Shirts and gifts at the Harbor Location is a very good selection.

Going to the Harbor area, ditch the car and take a shuttle.

The Harbor location has a box car used for dispensing ice cream, a novel approach.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's Saloon & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Grandma's Saloon & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing