We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“our first DDD experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duluth Grill

Duluth Grill
Ranked #2 of 247 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“our first DDD experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

finally we had the opportunity to visit one of diners drive inns and dives locations. and we will be back again when in the area. we stopped in for breakfast this past weekend. we were in duluth for some time away from home. we did a little shopping and had a couple of great meals, including this one at the duluth grill. our waitress Jill was very pleasant and attentive. great service. my wife and i both very much enjoyed our meals. only problem was, we didn't get to come back a second time. it is easily accessed off the main highway so you have no excuses not to go. and the prices were more than reasonable. i guarantee you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rick00001967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    893
    257
    83
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We had breakfast and it was wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in for breakfast and had a wonderful experience. The server was sweet and friendly even offered to give us our coffee to go when we left. We tried scotch eggs for the first time and liked them. The eggs Benedict was great, as we're the hash browns. Fun decor. Loved the coffee cups too.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mdld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atoka, Tennessee
Level Contributor
212 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Won't go again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Being featured on DDD and being ranked so high on Trip Advisor we were SO excited to try the Duluth Grill. Our first night in Duluth we went and my wife ordered the Friday night fish fry special (baked though, not fried), I had the Pasty. Started out bad when after we ordered all the tables around us got their food first (we had ordered prior to them) and ours took forever. Waitress never even came to tell us why the wait was so long, explain anything, just left us sitting there wondering the entire time. When we finally got the meals, sadly the salad that came with them was the best part (good vinaigrette dressing). My wife thought the fish was extremely unappetizing on the plate, it was rolled up in a ball rather than a whole filet laid out. She figured out why as she started to eat it. The inside of the whitefish had a lot of dark meat and almost a gelatin like substance over it, only on the backside though. Think they were trying to cover it up with the presentation. It was so bad she sent it back and didn’t want anything else due to it being so unappetizing. My wife and I have been married over 7 years and she has never in that entire time sent anything back if that says anything. The Pasty was eh, but nothing better than that. Very bland, very little seasoning to it and the gravy with it tasted like it came out of a jar. Thoroughly unimpressed, especially since they pride themselves on fresh local ingredients, everything homemade, etc. The manager was extremely nice and comp’d my wife’s fish without any issues, so if I could I would give it 1 ½ stars due to that, can’t justify giving them the upgrade though to 2 stars. The place was rather crowded while we were there so perhaps both our meals and service were a total fluke, but we would definitely not go back and would never recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
597 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Our go-to restaurant in Duluth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place has the best food that we've found anywhere close to Duluth. The Scenic Cafe may be more famous, but we prefer the easy atmosphere and equally-creative creations at the Duluth Grill. The Red Flannel Hash is always on our plates for breakfast as is one of their egg dishes. The coffee is great and there is rarely a wait, even with the recent visit by the Triple-D crew (Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives) causing a stir there. Their chefs are the best and the service has always been top notch as well. I highly recommend this restaurant when you're in Duluth.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScottyG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent homemade goodness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The food is all cooked to order and many good choices. The wildrice burger and sweet potato fries are excellent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Care65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duluth Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing