We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising conversion to healthful food”
Review of Duluth Grill

Duluth Grill
Ranked #3 of 257 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Surprising conversion to healthful food”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I had eaten here years ago when it was an Embers. But browsing TripAdvisor to try something new in Duluth, I came upon the Duluth Grill and was interested in its strong ratings.

In the past couple of weeks I have been through Duluth three times, so tried this place for dinner, then came back for a breakfast (one big blueberry pancake and two slices of meaty, thick sliced bacon), and a couple of days ago tried a lunch (their hearty "Hobo" soup and a half-BLT sandwich). Salads are fresh, and the place is dedicated to practically giving you the zip code of where nearly everything on the menu comes from. Obviously the owners are committed to serving healthful, fresh, organic, delicious, locally sourced (where possible) food for a very fair price in a clean, pleasant facility. Servers are knowledgeable, friendly, and eager to inform and please.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gr8uncphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    985
    283
    92
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Healthy Happening Place!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Open 7 days a week this place rocks!! Call 1/2 hour before and you will be seated quicker, it is not a reservation but they do put you near the top of the waiting list. Called from Miller Hill Mall, then drove there and we only waited 10 minutes even tho the place was packed and there were people waiting inside and out. That is a really good tip, you are only allowed to call up to 1/2 hr. ahead. I ordered the wild rice and pulled bison stuffed peppers and the sweet potatoe chunks. Both excellent and served with unique dipping sauces!! My neice had the grill cheese and fries from the kids menu and you should have seen the size of it. My SIL had lemonade and it was homemade. The jams, ketchup and all sauces are made from scratch, the eggs are from free range chickens, no antibiotics .......a huge menu selection, a Gluten Free large section on the menu too!!! Visited by Guys Diners Dives and Driveins, those menu items that he tasted are marked with a thumbs up!! YOU CANNOT GO wrong eating here!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lowfatmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in Duluth and wanted to try a different place for lunch. Pulled up and the parking lot was full. The place was packed but we only waited 10 minutes for a table. Nice variety of menu items and food was fresh and delicious. Liked the unique touches of pickled green tomatoes and ketchup that tasted homemade. We will return to try more of their interesting items.

Helpful?
Thank jondska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Concord, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unusual but sooo good”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I like the organic menu, the food tasted very fresh and was flavorful. I did take home food as the serving portions are generous to say the least.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cyndie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
193 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Disappointed on this visit”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our first visit a year ago was fabulous, so I guess my expectations were either too high or not met this time. Sigh. We stopped here en route to our north shore camping weekend. I'm now sad we did since we passed up going to New Scenic Cafe because this place had a larger menu. Probably won't make that mistake again. We arrived at 11:30 and were seated immediately. I decided to go with the breakfast menu, my fiance had his heart set on a blt. His was the wiser choice. Among my complaints for this trip - our server was quite aloof & sporadic, inconsistent service; he delivered the wrong food and when it was fixed, the signature red flannel hash was half cold and actually not good; coffee was not much better than a diner. I'm really sad to post this review because we try hard to support local and high-quality restaurants. After this visit, I might give them one more try, but am sad to have had such an inconsistent experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonnie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duluth Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing