We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Pizza is Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant

Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 246 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Homemade sauce with our secret mix of seasonings. Dough that's made fresh every morning. Specialty meats and real mozzarella cheese. The sounds of crisp crust being cut into perfectly sized squares. That's what you'll find in the kitchen at Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant in Downtown Duluth.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Pizza is Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

After reading other reviews I decided we should try Sammy's Pizza when we visited Duluth. We had been to Duluth many times, but had never eaten there. It was some of the best thin crust pizza I've had. It was very quiet on a Sunday night. The waitress was very nice and service was great. It's not fancy, but it's very tasty. I would go back there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    33
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We've been eating Sammy's Pizza since high school and we graduated over 50 years ago! It still tastes the same! Back in high school, we would pool our money and get a large pizza for $1.25. So nice that it hasn't changed in all those years. Fun to go back and re-visit our teenage years and have our favorite pizza.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank whereintheworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“If pizza is your thing, then this is the place for you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I grew up on this pizza. I have tried them all. Thick, thin, eclectic, double stuffed, etc but nothing beats a good ole pepperoni and cheese pizza at Sammy's

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Birkie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great taste poor delivery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Delivery driver incapable of following clear and simple instructions (turned right when told to go left, etc.) Both Pizza were cut in center but no cuts extended through crust. Excellent flavor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneOpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

They were very busy the day we were there. We had the lunch buffet every things was really good.I have had better pizza but the salad soup and dessert pizza were very good. The only complaint I had was they didn't bring out the dessert pizza until buffet was going for 45 minutes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith2479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing