We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic pizza joint”

Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 260 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Description: Homemade sauce with our secret mix of seasonings. Dough that's made fresh every morning. Specialty meats and real mozzarella cheese. The sounds of crisp crust being cut into perfectly sized squares. That's what you'll find in the kitchen at Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant in Downtown Duluth.
Twin Cities
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Basic pizza joint”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Sammy's is a bit above the chains but nothing special. The cheese bread is very bready and the pizza crust a bit too doughy. Sauce could use a little more kick. OK basic type of pizza nothing I'd go out of my way for know Luce is just a few blocks away. Service was efficient and friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave9956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    41
    18
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Service with a Smile and GREAT PIZZA!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

YUMM! I think this is the BEST pizza I have ever tasted. Their crust is great and toppings tasted fresh and plentiful! We started out with Garlic Cheese Bread and that was good but they have spaghetti sauce for dipping which is rather bland and tangy. I would opt for something a bit more flavorful. Our service was great from walking in the door to during our stay to the time we walked out. I would definitely recommend this to anyone in the mood for pizza! We will definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

PIzza was delicious. There was a special for free cheese bread the day we ordered. That was ok, but the sauce was very runny and not that good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RN_Mom_to_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This is Quality Pizza”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Had delivery to our hotel while visiting Duluth. Had read and heard good things. Was impressed with the freshness of the toppings.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krugja13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good pizza - No real complaints”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

While visiting Duluth, I was told I had to go to Sammy's Pizza while I was there. There was one just around the corner from my motel, so, since I was without a car I decided it was meant to be. I had read some reviews that this particular location was a bit of a dive, which convinced me to order for pick-up instead of eat-in. My order was ready when I got there. And, reviewers were right. This location was nothing to look at. The staff was very friendly and immediately attentive when I walked through the door, though. The pizza I ordered was very good. The crust was great and the cheese was just brown enough. The side salad I got was just ok. The tomatoes were a bit under ripe, but it was fine for a side salad. I would definitely get pizza there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing