We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get A Wieney”
Review of Coney Island The Original - CLOSED

Coney Island The Original
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Get A Wieney”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stop by this place an order a couple of wieney's with the works, (meat sauce, mustard, onion). Sooo Bad but SOOO GOOD. Good breakfast choices, get the hash & eggs. Quick, fast & good

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    36
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“local favorite”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A great place to sample unique local flavor. A Duluth favorite for many years. Inexpensive and easily accessible as well!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Made the whole family happy”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Now that our kiddos are older (7 & 10), we're trying to expand their horizons and avoid chain restaurants when we travel. This is a great local spot that pleased our entire family.

The coney dogs are just like the ones my husband loved when we lived in Detroit, loaded with chili, onions and flavor. I had the terrific Chicago dog with relish, mustard and pickle -- and onion rings that were crisp, crunchy perfection. There's no kids' menu, but the plain dog, cheeseburger and fries made the kiddos happy. The burger was plenty big enough to share, and topped with a fresh pretzel bun that we all loved.

We visited on a Saturday afternoon and had no trouble getting a table. The decor is retro kitsch, with car parts and tin signs on the walls.

Come prepared with quarters for the parking meters out front, and if your kids are still at the young-and-grabby stage, be careful about the self-service coffee pot sitting on the edge of the counter. There's a nice candy shop next door (Fannie Rose) where you can pick up some sweets or popcorn for the road.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shellymn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Great place for locals and visitors”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This place seems to have a great local following, they know the locals and what they want as they walk in and are helpful to the people just trying it for the first time. Must stop in for lunch!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Breakfast with Local Flavor”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Needing a quick, late breakfast on a Sunday morning, the friendly staff at Coney Island was hopping to get meals out quickly. A latte took a little longer than expected, but was excellent. Eggs & oatmeal showed up hot and tasty. The decor made the short wait interesting and the staff took the time to make us feel welcome. Would definitely recommend this spot for quick, delicious breakfast or sandwich.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WaukeshaWalkAbouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coney Island The Original also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing