We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stop”
Review of Coney Island The Original - CLOSED

Coney Island The Original
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the stop”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

First time at Coney Island .... I was impressed. I had double Coney with cheese and was not disappointed. I want to know where they get their dogs!!!! Excellent flavor. Too full to try a gyro but according to my friend they are excellent. He's a regular. Very clean establishment with lots of room. I've been in the food business for 20 yrs and was impressed! Best kept secret in Duliuth? You tell me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MnLakesGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    36
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Living History”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This place has been around for a long time. Friendly staff, good food featuring coney and Chicago dogs, inexpensive, they also make a good breakfast but we never made it out of bed early enough for that. Within walking distance of Canal Park.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GIDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
176 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lack of customer service focus!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Food is ok, what you'd expect in a diner like this. Complaints: No paper in toilets, no paper towels in restrooms. Overheard take out order where customer asked if there was ketchup, napkins, forks- No they didn't include them ...so I think they could do a bit to improve customer service on all fronts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kjhMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Went there for breakfast, it was very good. Service was excellent! Pleasantly surprised! Would go back again! Very reasonably priced!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kids wanted hot dogs”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stopped here by chance since I had gone to the candy shop next door and my kids declared they wanted hot dogs for lunch. We loved the decor of the place and I loved ordering at the counter, no waiting for waitstaff with hungry kids. The prices were great, we got three hot dogs with fries, an italian and gyro. All very good but I wished I remembered the Italian had hot peppers! We will be coming back. Oh and my son loved the hot dog on the ceiling, he pointed it out for me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theandermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coney Island The Original also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing