We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“meh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sports Garden

The Sports Garden
425 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2307
+1 218-722-4724
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 246 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The family friendly atmosphere at Grandma’s Sports Garden allows you to enjoy an interactive and entertaining dining room where it’s truly OK to bring the kids… and then act like one! It’s 20,000 square feet of sports, great food, and fun, accented by multiple flat screen TVs! It’s also full of games – arcades, a pool table, darts, air hockey – and the food is just as fun! Specialties include Bonottas (our version of the calzone), specialty burgers, hearth-baked sandwiches, chicken wings by the dozen and a seasonal features menu! Don't forget about the Sports Garden's Famous Saturday Buffet! At night, the Sports Garden becomes the perfect place to meet lots of fun people, whether it’s on the dance floor, at a concert, or a special event. Grandma's Sports Garden: ALWAYS a GREAT time!
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Spaghetti, paper thin crust pizza and calzone type things for the buffet. It was all fair. Nothing special, not bad. I did like the pesto pizza and the (what I think was) bacon cheeseburger pizza options. If you're not a fan of extremely thin, crisp crust avoid the pizza.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank blindedbyscience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandmasSportsGarden, General Manager at The Sports Garden, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi, my name is Matt Baumgartner; I am the General Manager of Grandma’s Sports Garden and Event Center. First of all, I want to thank you for taking the time to share comments about your visit. I am sorry the experience did not meet your expectations. We take great pride in providing our guests with an enjoyable experience. Can I ask what would have made the experience more enjoyable? It is feedback like this that will allow us to improve and meet our guest’s expectations. My email address is mbaumgartner@grccorp.com. Again, I would love to hear more comments and suggestions from you. I am hopeful that you will visit us again when you are in the area! Thank you again for your nice comments and insightful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    24
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pewaukee
Level Contributor
95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dang It..........Couldn't Enjoy the outside deck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

THey had some sort of wedding or whatever gig going on on their upper level outdoor deck area so my work associate and I weren't able to go out there to enjoy the fresh air and scenery.

I had a bowl of soup, friend had fish dish, both were good portions and well presented, enjoyed a couple of nice cold Blue Moon's with dinner.

Would go back and would recommend it to others to try.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Lea, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I had never heard of a Bonotta, but I will never forget it now. Hubby and I stopped for lunch after visiting the aquarium. We were going to each order the "House Bonotta" which sounded like what we know as a calzone. The waitress was kind enough to tell us how large this was so we decided to share it. This wonderful flaky crust was baked to perfection in the hearth. It was a golden brown. Cutting into it we found it stuffed full of Italian sausage, pepperoni, mushrooms, and lots of melted cheese with wonderful herbs and sauce. Our trip ends tomorrow but we will definitely stop on our way out of town for another Bonotta.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Patio - Poor service, lousy food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a far-below-average buffalo chicken salad on the roof/patio. Nice view, but terrible and slow service and dirty tables. They made the salad a second time, actually adding buffalo chicken and bleu cheese (per the menu) on the second try. It was still lousy. The server was positive and professional through the ordeal. Take a pass and try elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandmasSportsGarden, General Manager at The Sports Garden, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi, my name is Matt Baumgartner; I am the General Manager of Grandma’s Sports Garden and Event Center. First of all, I want to thank you for taking the time to share comments about your visit. I am sorry the experience did not meet your expectations. We take great pride in providing our guests with an enjoyable experience. Can I ask what would have made the experience more enjoyable? It is feedback like this that will allow us to improve and meet our guest’s expectations. My email address is mbaumgartner@grccorp.com. Again, I would love to hear more comments and suggestions from you. I am hopeful that you will visit us again when you are in the area! Thank you again for your nice comments and insightful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for Events”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

If your not going to an event at the Sports Garden or going out drinking, I would avoid. The food is less than average. Hotspot on the weekends for college students.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank knovikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sports Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing