We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fun Place - Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Chicago

Old Chicago
327 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2305
218-720-2966
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 246 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
177 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fun Place - Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stopped in for some mid-evening food after playing darts for several hours at Grandmas Sports Bar. We decided to order a thin crust 14" pepperoni pizza and the "big cookie".

The pizza crust was thicker than I would normally prefer and also call a thin crust, being approximately 1/4"-5/16" thick. However the crust was crispy and had excellent flavor. This was perfectly made and I will order this pizza again. This size should feed about 3-4 people, or two people if you are exceptionally hungry.

The "big cookie" is a huge 9" diameter chocolate chip cookie that is baked and served in a deep dish pan. Our cookie averaged about 1/2" to 5/8" in thickness and was soft and chewy with just the right amount of crispness. This cookie was very good and an excellent desert value, with a price point at just $4.95. It will feed 4-6 guests.

As for our drinks, our cocktails were well made and reasonably priced, and the bottle beer was served very cold, as desired. And when the time came to visit the restrooms, we found them clean and well lighted.

This Old Chicago location also has a large array of quality TV sets for watching sporting and other televised events. It is easy to view multiple TV screens from about any location in this restaurant.

We like this Old Chicago location and certainly will visit again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    68
    19
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mpls
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A safe bet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you enjoy a good selection of ales, both micro as well as macro. Think fresh made is the only way to do things. And believe beer and pizza taste better in front of a big flat screen TV, welcome to one of my "aces in the hole". OK it's a franchise, but quality is never an issue. Nice thing to know when it comes to your entertainment dollar. What else can I say "it works". Haven't found anything to dislike about it yet. Sorry.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sconehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“TRY THE SPAGHETTI PIE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Spaghetti Pie was fantastic! I was so full but could no stop eating!! Good atmosphere with plenty of room. I knew their pizza was good but the pastas are excellent too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ItsME43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
177 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Enjoyed a pizza and beer for our dinner. The pizza was delicious (and the leftovers were good the next day as well!). Our server was pleasant and helpful with the beer selection.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Good Meal That Almost Wasn't...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My family and I decided to have some pizza from Old Chicago instead of eating at a fast food restaurant. There was only 2 people ahead of us when we came in and so we thought that seating was going to be fairly quick. After talking to the hostess we found that it was going to be at least 20 minutes until we were seated. When I told the hostess that we had decided to find somewhere else, the manager stepped up and said that they would find us a table. I would estimate that they were at around 75% of capacity. They seated us at a clean table within just a couple minutes. It took about 15 -20 minutes for our food to arrive, but it was worth the wait! Everyone's food was extremely tasty with good portions. The atmosphere was a little loud and was more sports bar than restaurant, but we all enjoyed the experience. Our waitress was very professional, attentive and kind. I know we will go back again since it was a delightful change.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WaddyagonnaDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing