We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wait. But worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Chicago

Old Chicago
Ranked #37 of 245 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Atwater
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wait. But worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It seems that every Red Lobster I have enjoyed, there is always a 40 minute wait. In this situation, it was well worth the wait. The Shrimp sampler is everything a Shrimp eater could possibly want.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank csmdrhanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    72
    20
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
262 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Pretty good, not chicago pizza though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The food was pretty good but it's not Chicago pizza. Staff is nice and the bar area offers plenty of draft beers to choose from. Go during Happy Hour for some great deals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
430 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
“Good mac and cheese; decent pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We ate lunch recently at this particular Old Chicago. It was the first time any of us had eaten at an Old Chicago restaurant. I believe it's a chain; but they don't have any near where we live. I had never even heard of it before.

We stopped in around eleven on a Thursday in July, and the place was deserted except for a group of guys sitting at the bar. We were seated in the dining area upstairs (the bar is at street level). The waitress was very prompt, and friendly.

I ordered the macaroni and cheese dish; the rest of the family ordered a large deep dish pizza to share. My meal was good. The macaroni on the top as well as the bread crumbs were a bit overcooked, but it still tasted fine. I tried a bit of the pizza; it was okay. After all, it's pretty hard to mess up pizza. I did think their large size was a bit small compared to other pizza places. The large was cut into eight slices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kren250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I've eaten at Old Chicago in other cities and expected the usual chain stuff. I was pleasantly surprised by the great service , the tangy sauce, and the amount of toppings on the Meat Me specialty pizza. I didn't feel like drinking beer at the time and ordered unsweetened iced tea,...it tasted like fresh brewed quality tea, not at all like the fake bland stuff you usually get. I also like spicy Italian sausage and theirs was great.

This place changed my perception of national chains being plain and bland. The price was right ,too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GIDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutsen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have eaten here on 3 separate occasions, great beer selection, excellent food, good service. What more can you ask for?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lutsenresorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Chicago also viewed

 

Been to Old Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing