We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best”
Review of New Scenic Cafe

New Scenic Cafe
Ranked #2 of 257 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hermantown, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A few miles outside of Duluth, up the Lake Superior North Shore, is the New Scenic Cafe, the best restaurant in--or out-- of town. The rustic interior and the beautiful view serve to enhance the dining experience. Chef-owner Scott Graden uses the finest quality ingredients, fresh and locally sourced, to create meals that are as clever as they are delicious. From a goat cheese baguette with hazelnut, carmelized onions and lavender honey to a bouillabaisse steaming with scallops, mussels, fennel and leeks to a blood orange sponge cake with citrus supremes and candied kumquats, you will savor each and every bite. Be advised that the restaurant is not air-conditioned in the summer, but a glass from the well-chosen wine list will help you get over the heat quickly. The menu changes seasonally, so there are always new items to try. No wonder the New Scenic Cafe is a personal favorite of so many foodies. And, oh, be sure to buy a copy of Scott's cookbook, which is equally at home in the kitchen and on the coffee table, before you leave.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    125
    48
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always excellent food and service at the Scenic!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The dishes are unique for Northern Minnesota with a blend of local and exotic fare. Really enjoyed the spiced mussels! And we have been known to make the 30-mile round trip just to have coffee and dessert at the Scenic. We have always been treated well by the wait staff whether for lunch or dinner. If you don't understand the gourmet terminology in the menu, don't be afraid to ask about it. They are happy (and not condescending) to explain it to you. Great stop along the North Shore!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very impressive dining experience every time!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We always enjoy dining at the New Scenic Café. Despite the meals using ingredients we've never heard of before, the flavor combinations are excellent! We have always been very pleased with any selection we've made.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meh.”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went on our way back from the North Shore as a nice way to end our trip with a great meal. We had heard such great things about this place from friends and were expecting it to be a great little meal. Our server was obviously stressed and very short with us. The food was not as good as I was expecting. The escargot was the highlight of the dining experience. The sandwiches were pretty mediocre. They came on untoasted pieces of bread and the flavor was lacking. The prices seemed a little high for poor service and mediocre food. Maybe they were having an off day, but we certainly won't be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank forestcookj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

First impression, the hostess greeted us with a look of "Why are you here?"
As a Party of 2 I found it rather odd we had to wait for 15-20 minutes since I notice at least 6 near by tables empty, cleaned & reset for service.
When I asked if there was a bar we could wait since he waiting area is fairly small. Answer - No.
Oddly enough we were asked if we would like to order a beverage & they would bring to us in the waiting area. Before the beverages arrived another employee brought us to a table about 15 feet from the "Waiting Area". After being seated our beverages were delivered to the "Waiting Area". Didn't even try to find us.
The wait for a waiter seemed a bit odd since half the tables near us were empty. Once the waiter did arrive we were asked if we would like beverages. We informed the waiter we had ordered & the hostess delivered them to the waiting area. He didn't seen surprised at that.
I know what you may be thinking "Why didn't you just go get the beverages yourself" My Answer, on Principle. For the reception we had received, the unnecessary wait & the overall lack rudeness of the hostess I was strongly considering just leaving & going else where for lunch. We did stay. The food was Good but they should be a bit more open about the lack of normalcy in the manor they serve food. Burgers come with only a side of Melon, 2-3 pieces & tiny cup of Ketchup. None on the table. The boyfriend was not too impressed. I ordered a sandwich that had asparagus & a fried egg. It was accompanied with the before mentioned fruit. I found my sandwich very tasty.
Overall I will never go back.
Would not recommend this place.
The "view" is not worth it. It was across the road. We saw more cars zipping past than anything. Smart people, they kept driving.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Scenic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing