We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, delightful atmosphere”
Review of New Scenic Cafe

New Scenic Cafe
Ranked #2 of 257 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Delicious food, delightful atmosphere”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Met friends here for dinner on a weekend getaway on the North Shore. Food was so good that we returned for lunch the next day. Very interesting fresh ingredients, plenty of vegetarian options. The place itself is filled with local art, down to the menus. A very nice touch. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abcfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    125
    48
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Was so good we went back.”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Place is right on the lake, menu selection is good. We had the French onion soup and a salad and were going to split a burger. The soup was one of the best we have had and the salad was fantastic and filled us up. Took burger to our B&B and had it for dinner. We were back in Duluth 5 days later and came back. It was just was just as good again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clintheard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayzata, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“already ranked #1!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Best food - don't care which meal you come for - its ALL good
HIGH quality well prepared food - I say its one of the best restaurants in Minnesota.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a Treat!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Went here on a girls weekend and this menu was so fun and different. Had a quail egg on top of a wonderful pasta dish! Duluth has a wonderful food scene and there is a reason this is number one on the list for reviews.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingChicks09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Delicious, but not what we were expecting!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My bf and I took a short trip to Duluth/The North Shore for the weekend last week. We headed out on the North Shore Scenic Route for a nice long drive, and around lunch time we passed by this little gem! Deciding we wanted to stop for a nice "up north" breakfast/lunch we quickly turned around and pulled in.

We did not take the time to look up this restaurant online before going in. Looking at it from the outside we assumed we were headed into a small quaint little stop. Don't get me wrong, it looked nice, but not "fancy" by any means. Upon entering and sitting down, we realized we would not be getting the greasy spoon breakfast we had thought! That being said, we do not regret stopping here at all! Although we were dressed in our winter boots, hats, gloves, and full winter gear no one seemed to care!

The food was FANTASTIC! We each had a soup and salad combo for lunch, paying an extra $2 to get the French Onion Soup with our house salad. OMG, their French Onion Soup is the BEST we've ever had! I am a lover of french onion, and josh is just a liker :) But we both agreed it was fabulous!

The best part, when you get your bill at the end of the meal you get to write a note in a leather-bond journal! We wrote a note, and took a pic! What a fun touch! The interior has a rustic feel, the food is much nicer than expected, and the combo we both got was only around $13. We each got a coffee with lunch and the bill was under $30! If in town, stop here! You will not regret it!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunny0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Scenic Cafe also viewed

 

Been to New Scenic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing