We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant meal”
Review of New Scenic Cafe

New Scenic Cafe
Ranked #2 of 257 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Excellant meal”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were told by several people this quaint little place would not disappoint and they were right. The atmosphere is easy going and very friendly. Tables are close together which makes it nice to meet your neighbors and chat if you choose. Food was excellent - especially the walnut blue cheese dressing. My husband had the scallops which were delish. I had the butternut squash ravioli. You could taste the freshness in the food. Our only complaint was that our food came out just a little too fast. We would have like a little more leisurely meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatieS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    128
    48
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mpls
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A special treasure”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

A most unique place that will surprise you with exceptional cuisine that you wouldn't expect to find a bit of the beaten path. What I don't like is that I can't visit this place as much as I would like to.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sconehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inventive, Excellent, Consistent”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My favorite dining is when the offerings are something I wouldn't make or hadn't thought of and New Scenic Cafe offers that as well as more familiar choices. While we make fish tacos, nothing like NSC's seared tuna with Asian Napa cabbage slaw, wasabi smear and pickled ginger served in wonton shells. Of the dozen or so times we've enjoyed the NSC, not only are we never disappointed, but we leave completely pleased. Staff is friendly incredibly knowledgeable and professional.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthShoreLkSup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stopped on our way back from Grand Marais. We usually stop here on a trip to the North Shore. The menu is unique, the service is good and the food is excellent. We had to wait 30 minutes to be seated, but it is worth the wait.. We had the black fig entree', yellow fin tuna melt sandwich and their herring sandwich. All were very good. This is a must stop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FritzW18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Always a treat !!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It is always a treat to stop at the New Scenic Café on our way to our cottage, WindSong 606, at Beaver Bay, MN. The food is superb and beautifully presented. Plan to wait as food is freshly prepared to order.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Scenic Cafe also viewed

 

Been to New Scenic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing