We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Scenic Cafe

New Scenic Cafe
Ranked #2 of 254 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sartell, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very relaxing, great starters, great main course, Chillian Bass, tremendous triple berry pie.
Nothing more needs to be said.
Refreshing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    124
    47
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped in on Labor Day for a late lunch about 2 pm and the hostess said it would be a 30 min wait. As it turned out we only had to wait about 5-10 and were called for a table. We had a very nice fig appetizer. It changed my opinion of figs! I had the special which was a herring sandwich and my wife had a duck appetizer as her main course. Both were excellent. The waitress was attentive, but the service out of the kitchen seemed slow. Would certainly go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food on the North Shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This restaurant has been around for many years and everytime we go we rave about it again and again! The food is imaginative and fit for foodies but also has sandwiches for the kids. It is right off old Hwy 61 and the lake can be seen from the parking lot and some of table if you get a window in the part of the restaurant closest to the parking lot. Don't worry about the view--the are so many scenic overlooks on the way north from Duluth to the restaurant that you can just relax and enjoy the unique offerings as you dine. We have a special of tuna tacos for an appetizer and it was packed with just seared tuna. So fresh and served with a lively aioli. We both had the lobster rolls which were brimming with very fresh lobster--you would think we were on the east coast and not Lake Superior. There is an awesome goat cheese cake which is topped with spun sugar. We never would have ordered it if we hadn't seen so many of them pass our table. When we got ours, the woman at the table behind us came over to ask what it was and took a picture. It tasted as good as it looked! Be sure to try it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeggyR697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“North Shore Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stopped by the New Scenic Cafe many times, and have always totally enjoyed the creative appetizers, sandwiches, and dinners. The menu is constantly changing, based upon the season and fresh ingrediants available. Their versions of the "ham and cheese" and "BLT" are really some thing to experience, as is their fig/blue cheese on baquette appetizer. They offer a goat cheese salad, as well as other interesting salads, gourmet soups, and breads brought in from a Mpls. bakery. This cafe should be definately be on your "be sure to stop here"list. It's a North Shore gem!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mound, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food at New Scenic Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

New Scenic Cafe changes their menu fairly regularly but they have no problem whipping you up something that isn't on the menu. Having some dietary restrictions, I asked about ingredients in a certain dish and was told "We can make you something -- what can you have?" They made a lovely dinner and were happy to use whatever they had in the kitchen to meet my restrictions.

Healthy food, friendly, creative staff -- stop at The New Scenic cafe next time you are on the North Shore.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlmound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Scenic Cafe also viewed

 

Been to New Scenic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing