We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Scenic Cafe

New Scenic Cafe
Ranked #4 of 246 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped in on Labor Day for a late lunch about 2 pm and the hostess said it would be a 30 min wait. As it turned out we only had to wait about 5-10 and were called for a table. We had a very nice fig appetizer. It changed my opinion of figs! I had the special which was a herring sandwich and my wife had a duck appetizer as her main course. Both were excellent. The waitress was attentive, but the service out of the kitchen seemed slow. Would certainly go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    109
    39
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food on the North Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This restaurant has been around for many years and everytime we go we rave about it again and again! The food is imaginative and fit for foodies but also has sandwiches for the kids. It is right off old Hwy 61 and the lake can be seen from the parking lot and some of table if you get a window in the part of the restaurant closest to the parking lot. Don't worry about the view--the are so many scenic overlooks on the way north from Duluth to the restaurant that you can just relax and enjoy the unique offerings as you dine. We have a special of tuna tacos for an appetizer and it was packed with just seared tuna. So fresh and served with a lively aioli. We both had the lobster rolls which were brimming with very fresh lobster--you would think we were on the east coast and not Lake Superior. There is an awesome goat cheese cake which is topped with spun sugar. We never would have ordered it if we hadn't seen so many of them pass our table. When we got ours, the woman at the table behind us came over to ask what it was and took a picture. It tasted as good as it looked! Be sure to try it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeggyR697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“North Shore Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stopped by the New Scenic Cafe many times, and have always totally enjoyed the creative appetizers, sandwiches, and dinners. The menu is constantly changing, based upon the season and fresh ingrediants available. Their versions of the "ham and cheese" and "BLT" are really some thing to experience, as is their fig/blue cheese on baquette appetizer. They offer a goat cheese salad, as well as other interesting salads, gourmet soups, and breads brought in from a Mpls. bakery. This cafe should be definately be on your "be sure to stop here"list. It's a North Shore gem!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mound, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food at New Scenic Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

New Scenic Cafe changes their menu fairly regularly but they have no problem whipping you up something that isn't on the menu. Having some dietary restrictions, I asked about ingredients in a certain dish and was told "We can make you something -- what can you have?" They made a lovely dinner and were happy to use whatever they had in the kitchen to meet my restrictions.

Healthy food, friendly, creative staff -- stop at The New Scenic cafe next time you are on the North Shore.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mlmound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Gourmet food in a bucolic setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is THE place to eat on the North Shore Scenic Drive within the first 30 miles from Duluth. Surprisingly modern, fresh cuisine in a charming cabin across the road from Lake Superior. Open all afternoon for travelers not on a rigid mealtime schedule.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Scenic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing