We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely Scenic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of New Scenic Cafe

New Scenic Cafe
Ranked #2 of 254 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Definitely Scenic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The drive up to the cafe is gorgeous. The menu is full of interesting choices, and they switch it up according to seasons. Don't expect super fast service.Take a day off and drive further north to Betty's Pies or to go see some of the light houses along the lake.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    124
    47
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true local gem, in a majestic setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

After being subjected to the bar scene in Canal street we decided to find a locals choice for dinner.

We were so lucky to find New Scenic Cafe, from the view, to the service , and the innovative food choices this place is well ranked at #1.

The wait staff was delightful and everything they brought to the table was very well presented.

We highly recommend this place, and for travelers like ourselves finding a restaurant that is filled with locals enjoying dinner out is just the ticket.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwincitiesAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good for the area, mostly.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We went for dinner in February. The drive out to the restaurant takes about 30 minutes (in snow) from Duluth. The menu is clever and the food was mostly good. We did not have a wait for our table (we had reservations of course and it WAS February in Duluth).

However, we waited a half hour for our entrees to arrive when we found that the waiter forgot our appetizers. No apology, just a joke that we should order dessert now since we are likely still hungry. Ugh.

This won't be the top of the list for next time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food - LONG WAIT!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have been here a few times over the years. It hasn't changed much - typically the food is quite good to excellent, but the wait is horrible! This time we waited an hour and a half for our entrees to arrive (on our first occasion, dinner was a three-hour deal!). If you're staying in Duluth, it's a little bit of a haul out there, and we have found that there are more and more decent restaurant options in town that could give this place a run for the money! You'll probably have a good dinner if you go, but don't plan any other events for the night because you may not make it there in time. Also, the place has the ambiance of a cedar walk-in closet. Honestly, I'd expect what's been consistently rated as the best restaurant in the area to improve its atmosphere by now. We'll probably pass on it next time we're in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pvollmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
105 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Incredible food, nice view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We took a weekend trip to Duluth and found this restaurant on tripadvisor. It was the highest rated restaurant in Duluth, so of course we had to try it out. It's a bit out of the way, but well worth the drive. The decor is homey, yet classy, and it has a cabin feel to it. Great view of Lake Superior. Waitress and hostess were kind and knowledgeable about the food. The menu was succinct, and yet I had a really hard time choosing between the options, they all sounded good and exotic. I started with a pistachio encrusted goat cheese salad. Maybe I was just really hungry, but it honestly was one of the best salads I've had in a long time. The flavoring was really unique, and it was big enough to share with my significant other, who enjoyed it was well. I finally decided on the sautéed root vegetables for my entree. They were served over whipped celeriac, which I had never tried before, but the waitress explained that it was similar to mashed potatoes. The celeriac was the best part of the dish, but the root vegetables were perfectly cooked and nicely seasoned. I cook quite a bit, but there were several flavors that were unusual or hard to place. There was an olive tapenade around the rim of the plate, and fresh fennel and a few other herbs on top. My SO got the beef tenderloins and enjoyed his dish a lot. They also had a kids menu with 10 options, which was really nice as not all restaurants with this quality of food offer children's options. Our son ordered the Belgian waffle sticks and devoured every bite. Do not expect to have leftovers, as the servings are relatively small, but you will enjoy every bite! We will definitely visit this place if in the Duluth area again, and look forward to it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Scenic Cafe also viewed

 

Been to New Scenic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing