We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eclectic Spot with Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Scenic Cafe

New Scenic Cafe
Ranked #3 of 252 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
MN
Level Contributor
290 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Eclectic Spot with Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This gem is always worth the stop no matter what time of day. There is always a great selection of menu items to choose from. Real butter is used in the food preparation and that makes a lot of difference. Food presentation is always artful. Casual dress is never out of place here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 2TravelersMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    124
    47
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This is a must experience on the North Shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The menu has so many creative and inspirational choices, their local and sustainable items were a delight, and our server was friendly, helpful and had a passion for great customer service. Every one of our dishes were sublime (6 of us dined). Their wine list is limited and yet the offerings were reasonably priced and better than expected. You'll love the cozy setting inside and out with views of Lake Superior in the distance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sue570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome food and great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Cute little cafe but with excellent food and service. Suprisingly sophisticated but still down to earth Definitely worth a visit!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank QualResearcher_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We visited the New Scenic Cafe for dinner on the Saturday night of our trip due to a recommendation from a foodie friend. It was excellent! We had the pork tenderloin and the beef tenderloin and loved both. We were so happy with the food that we came back the next night for dinner as well! That night we had the lamb meatloaf and the duck. The lamb meatloaf was excellent, while the duck was good. I can highly recommend the two tenderloins and the lamb meatloaf. We will definitely go back on our next trip north.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decadent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was my first trip to New Scenic Cafe, but my family in Duluth has talked it up. It met and passed my expectations. The menu is no ordinary menu, and changes with the seasons. Normally when I eat out, I tend to stick with the "safe" menu items, but I went out on a limb and ordered the buffalo pastrami sandwich, and it was absolutely divine. My dining companion had a herring sandwich with prosciutto, and was very impressed with her meal as well. We nearly licked our plates clean. An added bonus to the fabulous meal is the location of the cafe, it is across the street from the lake, so as we ate we had a view of the fall colors with the lake in the background! I will definitely go back here next time I'm in Duluth.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Scenic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing