We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Scenic Cafe

New Scenic Cafe
Ranked #3 of 252 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We visited the New Scenic Cafe for dinner on the Saturday night of our trip due to a recommendation from a foodie friend. It was excellent! We had the pork tenderloin and the beef tenderloin and loved both. We were so happy with the food that we came back the next night for dinner as well! That night we had the lamb meatloaf and the duck. The lamb meatloaf was excellent, while the duck was good. I can highly recommend the two tenderloins and the lamb meatloaf. We will definitely go back on our next trip north.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    124
    47
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decadent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was my first trip to New Scenic Cafe, but my family in Duluth has talked it up. It met and passed my expectations. The menu is no ordinary menu, and changes with the seasons. Normally when I eat out, I tend to stick with the "safe" menu items, but I went out on a limb and ordered the buffalo pastrami sandwich, and it was absolutely divine. My dining companion had a herring sandwich with prosciutto, and was very impressed with her meal as well. We nearly licked our plates clean. An added bonus to the fabulous meal is the location of the cafe, it is across the street from the lake, so as we ate we had a view of the fall colors with the lake in the background! I will definitely go back here next time I'm in Duluth.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Impressed Again !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have been enjoying the New Scenic Cafe since about the time it began and have never been disappointed.
After many visits we have very high expectations and each and every time they are met or exceeded.
Too many restaurants or chefs seem to lose the creativity exhibited when new but not here.
This place is hard to pass up whenever we are in the area and everyone we have recommended it to have had positive reports.
Last night's (half priced wine) dinner reaffirmed our decision to dine there and we hope to return soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Delight Along The North Shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our first visit to the North Shore in many years, and the New Scenic Cafe helped make our return memorable. In front of the restaurant is a wonderful garden with chairs scattered throughout. You can go in and order a drink to be brought out to you as you enjoy the view of Lake Superior across Hwy. 61 and wait for a table to become available inside. Very relaxing. Inside, the restaurant is cute and cozy and laid back in a good way. Loved the walleye sandwich on toasted cranberry wild rice bread! We saved the best for last and shared a piece of Triple Berry Pie with both whipped cream and ice cream. It was almost embarrassing as each of us oohed and aahed over every bite; the most delicious pie ever! We will definitely return!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MINN7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of our Favorites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Such a unique place, love bringing visitors to Duluth there. Peaceful Atmosphere and wonderful food and view. Love this places charm!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Scenic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing