We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great pasta” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar

Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #10 of 252 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Classic Italian dinning and Wine Spectator award winner since 1999 Bellisio’s restaurant conjures up images of highly skilled chefs, fine wines, superb service, and fresh Italian food. And while all this is most certainly true, one must not forget that Bellisio’s is above all an experience. An exceptional dining experience, to be precise, but one that takes place in a casual atmosphere reminiscent of the quaint eateries and wine bars of the Italian countryside. And no wonder. The experience is fashioned after the small village of Bellisio, Italy, home to the owner’s ancestry. Imported direct from Italy are the beauty, comfort, romance, and glorious recipes. Specialty dishes include perfectly prepared pasta dishes using the finest imported and local ingredients; fennel roasted rack of pork; homemade risotto dishes; grilled steaks; shrimp; seafood; and a fresh catch feature every day. All served with a world class wine menu to match. Bellisio’s has received Wine Spectator’s prestigious “Best of Award of Excellence” every year since we opened in 1999. It’s a simple, colorful, elegant, and exceptional dining experience.
Akron
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“great pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

the dish I had that I really liked was a ravioli served in an alfredo sauce. Usually ravioli are bland and nothing, but these were savory and good and the sauce made them excellent.

excellent wine list

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wshAkron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    117
    41
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Superb Service, Astounding Wine List”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

When we go to Duluth we always eat here and it is always totally packed from 6:30 on and we always have excellent food accompanied with great service...and a wine list like I've only seen in France. If you know wine, you will most likely find it on the huge list. If you don't know wine, ask for help. On Mondays, a bottle of wine is half price which for some of the wines they offer, a great deal in any restaurant here or abroad. All of the food is good and servings are more than generous. My favorite dinner is the antipasto platter--high quality food and a wonderful meal. Recommended especially if you are staying on Canal Street as it is within easy walking distance to all of the hotels. Great place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShowMeTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
218 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Food with Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our visit to this Italian restaurant was a very good experience. Nice greeting and a warm atmosphere gave us a good feeling from the get go.

Our server brought us some house made foccaia and it was nice and soft, good flavor but a little salty.

The menu is not huge but covers a nice range of italian food from appetizers to main courses. We chose the rigatoni dishes, my wife had the Bolognese and I had the balsamico. The flavor was good, the sauce was there but not oversauced. The pasta was a little too hard for us but certainly not over cooked.

The dessert menu is electronic and the choices are the usual suspects with a twist. We had the gelato carrot cake and was very good.

a very nice experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jesseh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spooner, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
188 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great meal had by our party celebrating a birthday. The appetizer and meal was great and as a customer with celiac disease I loved the fact that they had a gluten free menu for an Italian eatery. Our meal was just wonderful and our server was wonderful!

Tip, you have to park but let the parking attendant know that you are eating somewhere because it's $4 for parking but then you get a $4 rebate for your meal. Win/Win!

I can't wait to go back for another special occasion!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Terrific Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The menu is extensive--lots of pasta selections from standard to unusual, with excellent presentation. It also includes some more prosaic, delicious entrees (chicken, beef, etc.) The deserts are to die for, so you need to go on an empty stomach. And the wine selection is fabulous, American, French, Italian, German, and some surprising varieties. Overall, superb!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing