We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Terrific Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar

Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #11 of 245 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Gluten Free Options, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Classic Italian dinning and Wine Spectator award winner since 1999 Bellisio’s restaurant conjures up images of highly skilled chefs, fine wines, superb service, and fresh Italian food. And while all this is most certainly true, one must not forget that Bellisio’s is above all an experience. An exceptional dining experience, to be precise, but one that takes place in a casual atmosphere reminiscent of the quaint eateries and wine bars of the Italian countryside. And no wonder. The experience is fashioned after the small village of Bellisio, Italy, home to the owner’s ancestry. Imported direct from Italy are the beauty, comfort, romance, and glorious recipes. Specialty dishes include perfectly prepared pasta dishes using the finest imported and local ingredients; fennel roasted rack of pork; homemade risotto dishes; grilled steaks; shrimp; seafood; and a fresh catch feature every day. All served with a world class wine menu to match. Bellisio’s has received Wine Spectator’s prestigious “Best of Award of Excellence” every year since we opened in 1999. It’s a simple, colorful, elegant, and exceptional dining experience.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Terrific Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The menu is extensive--lots of pasta selections from standard to unusual, with excellent presentation. It also includes some more prosaic, delicious entrees (chicken, beef, etc.) The deserts are to die for, so you need to go on an empty stomach. And the wine selection is fabulous, American, French, Italian, German, and some surprising varieties. Overall, superb!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    104
    39
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DENVER,CO
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great homemade italian with good wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great wine pairings and an extensive lunch/dinner menu. Offer a limited outdoor patio dining option overlooking the lake (through the street). Parking is ample in a pay parking lot adjacent to the restaurant. Good fine and good wine..what more can you ask for!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GWENCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
373 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This Italian resturant was classic Italian decor & had good Italian dishes. While the menu was not extensive, there were a variety of classic dishes from Italy.
It was a comfortable place with good service to enjoy a nice meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beckaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
389 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for dinner when staying at a nearby hotel and while the service was quite good, the food was disappointing. We started with the cheese plate appetizer with drinks. The cheese selection seemed more appropriate for dessert and, most distressingly, the cheese was served cold. The portion size would be suitable for several people to share. On the server's recommendation, I ordered the gnocchi, which were slightly undercooked and heavily covered with a bland spinach sauce. The portion, again, was large. My spouse liked his pasta but wished it had not been so bland. This struck me as a restaurant catering to tourists.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JJTOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hands down the best grilled shrimp I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went to Bellisio's for the first time on Sunday, 9/1/13 when we visited Duluth with another couple who had been there many times. Parking is right in back of the restaurant and there's a $4 fee, but you're given a coupon to have the fee refunded if you order an entree at either Bellisio's or Grandma's Saloon.
Bellisio's patio is small and noisy because of its location right on Canal Street so we chose to go inside. We arrived during happy hour and we sat at a high-top in the bar and enjoyed glasses of wine with the focaccia and olive oil that our server brought while we decided what to eat. David, our server, was very good about explaining the dishes and preparations and patient as we went back and forth on what to choose.
We had eaten a substantial lunch so my husband and I decided to share an appetizer of Grilled Shrimp and Fried Green Tomatoes. Here's the description from the menu: "Four jumbo shrimp marinated in olive oil, garlic, lemon, and fresh thyme, then grilled and served over mixed baby greens with polenta-crusted fried green tomatoes topped with garlic dipping sauce". The shrimp are skewered on a rosemary stem for extra flavor during the grilling. OMG--shrimp are one of our favorite foods so we've had them every which way, but those shrimp had great flavor and were grilled perfectly with a little char. The greens were dressed lightly with a tasty citrus vinaigrette, and the sauce on the fried green tomatoes was smooth and garlicky--I cleaned up every bit of it off the plate with my bread.
I prefer fried green tomatoes that have been dusted with bread crumbs mixed with oregano and parmesan, but the polenta crust was fine and the tomatoes were cooked perfectly. We asked our server to bring another skewer of the shrimp and they were just as good as the first ones.
Our friends shared the Fettuccine Alfredo and invited us to try a taste. It was creamy and flavorful and our friends said it's the best they've ever had in any restaurant so one of them has it whenever they come to Bellisio's.
Happy hour is in the bar on Sunday through Thursday from 3 to 6 and apps are $3 off, wines are $2 off, and beer is $1 off. Prices are a bit higher than in many restaurants, but the quality of the food is high and the happy hour specials help out a bit and sharing an appetizer or an entree makes it more affordable.
We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryJo822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bellisio's Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing