We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not your typical cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Avenue Cafe

Lake Avenue Cafe
Ranked #17 of 254 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not your typical cafe”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We've eaten here several times. It's in a convenient location, it's cozy and the employees are always so nice. The food isn't typical "cafe" food -- it's much better! The food is unique and always a pleasant surprise.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jah77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    82
    39
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brunch menu was interesting and fun!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was treated to brunch by my daughter after she ran the Gary Bjorkland Half Marathon and I had trouble deciding what to order because of the fun and fabulous choices. I decided on a veggie bake which was a black bean chili with two eggs and cheese on top with a side of roasted potatoes along with a grapefruit mimosa (YUM!) The atmosphere was buzzing with excited racers and their fams and friends and our server, Kia, was poised, efficient and delightful. I love this restaurant which is located in one of the coolest restored buildings in the canal. I have been there often for dinner, apps, and lunch. This was my first brunch and I liked it!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Two Perfect meals, Two different days”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I love this restaurant. The portion size is perfect for me and the prices are really reasonable. This is one of my new favorite places to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica61713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Don't miss the marrow toast!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Food was great - one of best restaurants in Duluth. The marrow toast was amazing and is highly recommended. It just didn't have that last little bit. The menu is written in a way that could give the impression they are trying to be overly trendy but the food is impressive. The atmosphere is on the casual end for fine dining but that seems to be standard in Duluth. They serve great coffee for after dinner. Will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most Enjoyable!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I can recommend this place! Food was fresh and well prepared. The portions were sized just right. The prices were moderate. I had the Deconstructed Fish n Chips... fresh whitefish from Lake Superior pan seared, oriental style cole slaw, and potato wedges... delicious and light. My husband liked his Chicken Fettuccine quite a bit and probably would have liked a larger portion because it tasted so good. We shared a hot fudge sundae... the hot fudge is really delicious! Everything is made fresh on-site. So much more enjoyable than a chain restaurant. We would definitely go back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Avenue Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing