We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Sandwiches”

Amazing Grace Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #4 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Duluth
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Description: For over 20 years, the Amazing Grace Bakery and Cafe has been serving great food to our community in a friendly, welcoming environment. Our customers appreciate our partnerships with local vendors and our use of earth-friendly products. We are proud to say that our breakfast, lunch, and bakery items are prepared from scratch in our kitchen and bakery. The Grace also serves as a coffee shop, where folks can get their caffeine fix from organic coffee products provided by local vendors. Finally, we are heavily involved in our community and local philanthropy. The Grace is a gathering place and performance venue for local musicians, artists, and community groups. We are a warm and welcoming place for all.
Midwest
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Huge Sandwiches”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We shared a pastrami sandwich. The bread was very good but we find the Artisan bread crusts a bit too tough and chewy to be easily eaten as sandwich bread. (Unfortunately, we ended up tearing off the crust but the meat and other fillings were good.)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    128
    35
    34
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sandwiches are gargantuan!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I were with another couple who have eaten at Amazing Grace Bakery many times before so they explained how everything works, although the staff is very friendly and helpful, as were other customers. The restaurant is on the garden-level, so you descend the stairs and find yourself facing the food prep area with a bakery case on your right and dining tables on your left. Their menu includes homemade soups, several salads, substantial sandwiches, and fresh baked goods. You step up to give your order where you can choose your own combination of bread, fillings, and condiments, or you can choose one of the special sandwiches that they have. Unless you have a large appetite, I strongly suggest you order a half sandwich. I opted to have the pastrami sandwich because I was curious about the pepper aoli. I loved it. I also ordered the creamy pumpkin soup, but I actually don't know if I got it because what I got--though it was delicious--didn't taste at all like pumpkin. It was hard to tell exactly what all was in it, but I did identify some potatoes, it seemed like there may have been some wild rice, and the base was definitely creamy and wonderful. My companions ordered a half tuna sandwich and coffee, a turkey sandwich and root beer, and some kind of vegetable soup and a muffin. We were all more than satisfied with our choices.
If you dine in, you get real plates, real coffee mugs, and real flatware! The atmosphere is cozy and has a college coffeehouse vibe with local musicians' autographed posters everywhere, tables with quirky news clippings epoxied on the top, and a piano in the corner. You bus your own dishes.
The prices are reasonable, the food is excellent, and the staff is young, friendly, and eager to please.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryJo822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota, United States
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Tip: There are two portions to Amazing Grace - the outside patio and the restaurant in the basement. We chose the basement portion as there was immediate seating. However, we found out that the service is faster to the patio (which is very busy). The bakery is in the basement restaurant area.

The food was very good. Had a spinach and feta cheese omelette.

For Gluten Free travelers: They do have GF cookies and toast (which they happily substitute for the wheat bread).

You do have to pay for parking anywhere on Canal street, unless you are staying at a hotel. We parked in the lot east of the restaurant. $2 for up to 2 hours.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun & funky cafe”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We ate at Amazing Grace on a Saturday morning in June-- lovely and sunny, and ended up waiting quite awhile for an outside table. We were okay with that, and the staff made the wait pretty enjoyable-- we were served coffee, we got a muffin from the bakery to tide us over, and servers kept us updated on when a table might open.

The breakfast food was great-- offbeat options with a healthy twist, vegetarian and meat. Loved the patio. We'd definitely go back when we visit Duluth!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tjalberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Lake, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We met some friends here mid-morning so we did not order off of the menu, but purchased some goodies from the bakery. Some of us had fried cinnamon rolls, caramel rolls, and muffins. We were disappointed in the quality of the food. They were very dry and over-baked. We would be willing to go back to try something off of the breakfast menu, maybe!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakerfantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amazing Grace Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Amazing Grace Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing