We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun, different place to eat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amazing Grace Bakery & Cafe

Amazing Grace Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #3 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Duluth
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Soups, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Everything from our award winning breads to our crisp golden hash browns are made from scratch daily. Whether it's muffins for your morning meeting or a cake for your wedding, the Amazing Grace Bakery and Cafe is gladly here to serve you. We have always seen the need for locally conscious and globally friendly businesses. That's why we also specialize in local eggs from Promised Land Farms, local honey from the Bar Bell Bee Ranch, fresh local beer from the Bent Paddle Brewing Company, beans from local roasters Alakef, local syrup from Simple Gifts, all of our to go containers and utensils are compostable, and we also compost all of our food and coffee waste. This bakery that added a coffee shop that started making sandwiches that started making breakfast all in the same spot has been locally owned and operated since its inception, 1995. Built on one iconic saying from our late founder, "be kind, be brave, don't eat bad bread", the Amazing Grace has held true to those ideals for nearly two decades and will for many more to come.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A fun, different place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I live in Duluth and ate at AG for the first time last month. It's definitely a fun place to try! The server was super friendly and sweet, and it was nice to eat outside in the sunshine. Wouldn't go there every day due to the somewhat high price for breakfast and the looooong wait for food, but a must-try nonetheless.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bergmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    122
    30
    30
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hometown coffee shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a great place for that funky, hometown feel in a coffee shop. We had coffee and bakery which were great. Also saw that this is a place for musicians and local activity.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank snowflake26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“locavore and vegetarian delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Duluth! They offer fresh, local, and home made foods, including soups, sandwiches, coffees, bakery items and breakfast items in the morning. They make their own artisian breads on site for the sandwiches. The offer a variety of flavors each day that change regularly. You pick your ingredients from a list of options including their made on-site delicious hummus and pesto. The soups also change regularly and I have loved each one that I have tried, although the pumkin was a favorite of mine. The baked goods include cakes, cookies and bars. The coffees also include espresso and cappucinos. If you go there on for a morning meal, they offer a full breakfast including fresh blueberry pancakes! The staff and atmosphere are very laid back and comfortable. They have tables, benches and sofa chairs around local art and intermittent local musicians. It is located one block from the lift bridge. It is underground so don't miss it! Look for the cobble stone sidewalk with the short wraught iron gate around it, then walk down the stairs and enjoy the local flavor!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoderickE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“try the lemongrass chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food is great, but watch the server, they may assume you mean a combo rather than a dinner, or vise-versa. I had ended up paying a higher rate and getting a smaller portioned meal. I believe it was a mis-understanding with the language barrier.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Majji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
385 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Trying to convert people into vegetarians?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Okay, this isn't a Jewish deli, but I expected more from the pastrami sandwich. Basically one slice that was mostly inedible gristle. Good bread and okay veg on it. My wife's chicken with wild rice soup had lots of potatoes, some rice and a vague smell of chicken. Probably used chicken stock, but certainly no sign of any meat. An application of salt and pepper provided the only real flavor. Lots of crud on the floor. Wouldn't eat here again if it was free, but this was overpriced even if it had been quality food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amazing Grace Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Amazing Grace Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing