We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch was great~”
Review of 7 West Tap House

7 West Tap House
Ranked #20 of 257 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Brule, WI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch was great~”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went here the other day for a going away luncheon. Burgers were fabulous and the location is very convenient. Burgers come on like a pie shaped plate very convenient. Newly remodeled inside and was very clean.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    38
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great burgers, even better fries!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

this place has awesome burgers, but I thought it was awesome that they handcut their fries and season them to your liking with a bunch of different seasonings. Oh, they also have a lot 40+ of different beers on tap!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
161 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“We've needed a place like this in the Twin Ports”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The 7 West taphouse--in addition to having a cool name--is also a cool place. Following in the styles of chain-style beer joints like JL Beers, this place is very welcomed into the Twin Ports bar & restaurant landscape...it's a niche that I feel has been overlooked far too long. While there are a lot of breweries in the area nowadays, there wasn't a quick place to grab a craft beer and some cheap grub without having to make reservations or waiting in line. Now, with 7 West Taphouse, there is.

The 7 West recipe is simple. You ala carte yourself a meal and drink. Everything has a price tag (including the bottles of water...not glass of water here), so you can just have a burger and beer for a few bucks...or for a dollar or so more, a burger, beer, and fries. How about just a burger and fries for cheap...say, $5)? Or how about just a beer and some chips for the same amount? You can do that here. Of course, you can also just have a beer, too. Maybe that's more my style.

Another great thing about this place is the beer selection, of course. 40 beers at any given time, I'm told, and that seems to hold up. There's your Miller Light on tap as well, but the place really specializes in craft beers (thank the Gods!), and they seem to have an emphasis on Midwestern brews, too (Odells, Bell's, Schell's, Surly, etc.). I really fell in love with the place when I got a text message from them saying they were having a Schell's beer event one night. While I'm not a huge Schell's fan, I am a huge Grain Belt fan, so I went to check it out. That night, Duluth FINALLY got in on the trendy, special-beer-tapping events like you hear about all the time down in the Twin Cities...Schell's had a big mucky-muck tap a douple IPA that was to die for. They also had prizes and other special Schell's beers...and for the first time, I felt Duluth /Superior just might make a great place for a beer-lover to spend some time after all. (FYI, join their text message list...the only one that actually sends out WORTH-WHILE text spam!)

The other things that make this place great are the very cool, relaxed environment. There's nothing terribly memorable about the design of the place, and that's OK. You aren't there to bask in art deco, you are there for beers and burgers. The staff is also pretty decent, as the place is small enough that they can keep your table filled with beer and food without any hassle. Most of the bartenders also love beer as much as you, so they are really helpful and always willing to let you sample.

You'll be able to find me quite often at 7 West, and hopefully this trend continues throughout the area (I think we can stand to have another place like this around).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fonixmunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beer Heaven & Fabulous Burgers”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This restaurant just opened. They have a narrow mission which they accomplish excellently. They serve excellent burgers and provide a choice of tap beers. Their French fries are available with several different seasonings. I personally recommend their home made potato chips which also come with a variety of seasonings. The Sugar daddy, Black and Blue, and Old Smokey burgers are fantastic. This is truly a great gem if you want great burgers and an awesome choice of beers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WAJ335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great beer selection and cheap eats”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

New bar and grill in Duluth has over 40 tap beers and amazingly cheap and delicious burgers and fries. The place is small, so you may need to wait for seats...especially on weekends during Bulldog hockey games. My advice...wait for the seats. You can easily get filled up on a yummy burger, dill pickle fries and have a beer for about $10.00.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 7 West Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing