We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, Interesting Take on Thai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pak's Green Corner - CLOSED

Pak's Green Corner
4131 Grand Avenue, Duluth, MN
218-624-9999
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vegetarian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh, Interesting Take on Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is some good Thai...not your average, run-of-the-mill, greasy, pre-packaged Thai food. You can tell it's made fresh with high-quality ingredients. The recipes are new twists on old favorites. It's basically Thai food for foodies, gourmets, etc.

We had the wontons and pad Thai. The wontons were small but the dipping sauce they came in was delightful. It was delicate and light, but added to the flavor. The pad Thai was not what I was used to, but I loved it. It tasted so alive. That's the only way I can describe it. Also, the menu is not expansive, but what they do, they do it well. The price was a little higher than Thai in the Cities, but I think the freshness and quality of the food outweighs the price difference.

The decor of the restaurant is almost like your average diner, clean but not newly remodeled or anything. It's not fancy, but it's not a dive, either. And I loved how the women's bathroom had a scale in it. LOL I think it's to remind women not to eat too much. :)

The waitstaff was very attentive. Our waters were refilled promptly and many times. After I received my meal, I realized that it would be all the better with more peanuts (I love peanuts on my pad Thai). I explained my fetish to the waitress and she brought me a whole bowl. I was in heaven!

All in all, if you're looking for Thai in Duluth, this is the place for you. Well, that is if you're not addicted to the average, run-of-the-mill, processed stuff you get at a lot of places....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CMJDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    16
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceeds high expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Pak has great fresh affordable food. (that covers it, no need to read on)

Don't be thrown off by the Thai references. They have un-Thai food also. Like the Canadian dish called Poutine. My favorite turkey sandwich and pulled pork sandwich was made there.

Everything we try has been prepared with attention to detail and tastes like it. Green curry is outstanding. Honey banana dessert, also outstanding. The lunch specials I've had were $5.95 to 7.95 and tasted like $15-25 meals. Call in an order ahead of time, if you are in a rush. I can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Go-foreign L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most authentic Thai ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I eat here quite a few times a week. I was stationed in Southern Thailand for a summer and this is the most authentic Thai I have ever had across the United States. The service is incredible and they will only serve dishes that they love! If you are into Thai cuisine you will not be disappointed. It is a complete gem, and I can't wait to get over there for dinner tonight!

Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RonWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
151 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Pak's is a great choice in West Duluth.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Tried this place for the first time last December on Christmas Eve, when we had some errands to do in that neighborhood. Service was great, and I recall the Spring Rolls being out of this world, along with some sort of chicken dish I had. There is an excellent athletic shoe store across the street if you need another destination and the historic Denfeld High School is also not far.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joelmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Go for the food, not so much the atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Would not have stopped based on the exterior of the place but since it was highly rated decided to give it a try. The inside was very clean with a sincere attempt at decor that didn't work for me. That said, the food was excellent. A limited menu but what we had was excellent..fresh spring rolls, large and well made.. The pad thai was yummy with fresh ingredients plus enough heat in the vegetarian pepper dish for those of us needing a break from "American" cooking!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank azls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pak's Green Corner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing