We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cotton Mansion
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn West(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$106
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Point Marina Inn(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$124
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn on Lake Superior(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark(Duluth)
$118
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$119
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Canal Park(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$149
$134
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$118
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Pier Inn on the Canal(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canal Park Lodge(Duluth)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
91
12
2
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
12
2
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace suitestuffed french toastcouple runningother guestsfirst morningrelaxing weekendcommon areascanal parkkimberlyhostsfireplacefoyersunroombathtub
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 115 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. This was the first night of our honeymoon and it hands down beat all the other B&B's where we stayed. This place has so much character and beauty. Our stay was awesome! We spent time playing chess in the library downstairs and the staff were wonderful about giving us suggestions for food without being too intrusive as we were on our honeymoon. This was definitely our favorite stay of the entire honeymoon. A trip to Duluth is not complete without a stay at the Cotton Mansion.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pyroboyx42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We wnet with our octogenarian parents for a little get away. It is a beautiful old home and appears to be very will kept. We had one room upstairs in the main house, I believe the James room. Open and spacious, very nice. The bed was a bit small and tall for elderly people. Lovely terrace. We stayed in the Crriage house in a wonderful and spacios room with a great bathroom. Quiet and nice, big bed, comfortable. We were very happy. The stairs are steep and narrow and elderly people, or people with any issues or perhaps kids with stuff may have a small problem.
The main parts of the house are open and useable and lots of options for leisure in home time. The breakfasts were well prepared and very well planned. The staff and owners are very accommodating. The main house has one grand staircase and our parents had trouble. They could only go up once a day with help. There is no elevator, or wasn't then. I cannot say if there in now. But the brought their breakfasts up to our parents so they could dine on the paito which was adorable, rather than dooing the stairs again. All in all great!

Room Tip: When choosiing a room work with the staff. Ask a lot of questions. Every room and bathroom is different so tell them exactly what you would like so they can match you appropriately. Beds and bath/showers are varied in each room. Don't just take the first room. MAke sure you know exactly what is in your room/bath. Some are more romantic, some more handicapped friendly etc. I would recommend not booking online unless you have spoken to them directly or don't care what room you get.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meema21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our first visit to Duluth - and a lovely B & B in which to stay. Beautifully restored on the inside, and we were enjoying our tour until a midwest storm crashed through, and knocked out all our power, and that of the neighborhood around us. Then the house felt almost like a haunted house, and we used the light of the overhead skylight in the stairwell to guide us to the main floor. When we returned after dinner, all was restored! Charming owners who served a delicious breakfast of watermelon with blueberries for the seeds, and yummy lemon/berry French toast. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Book early to get one of the larger rooms. We were in a smaller room, the sunset suite, in the main house, which ironically did not face West. It was a bit on the small side that would benefit from brighter light bulbs, yet we had a lovely bed and jacuzzi tub.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a beautifully restored mansion in Duluth! We have been to numerous B & B's, and typically find that most places are stronger than others in certain areas. In this B & B, we found some of the most impressively restored common rooms in the mansion of any that we have visited. The hosts were very friendly, and the breakfasts were quite good. If you go, try to stay in the main house rather than the carriage house which is behind the mansion. The carriage house has nice amenities, but isn't on the same scale as the main home.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house - not the carriage house!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvollmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The mansion is beautifully stunning. The history is very interesting, and discussing it with the owners kept us intrigued. Breakfast was beautifully done and delicious, nothing short. I would recommend for those that are seeking something different, for alone time minus distractions. No real complaints here. We enjoyed the journals in the Rose Room with notes from others that have stayed. Breakfast is a bit late for us at 9:30, as well as the coffee. I would have liked to have coffee when I awoke at 7am. Would I go back? Probably not, because I prefer a hotel. But I would definitely recommend the Cotton Mansion. Beautiful, one of a kind, historic property, intelligent and friendly owners.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rose Room...a smaller room. We were happy with it, but would liked to have stayed in a suite.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amberh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews