We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Anniversary hard to beat!!”
Review of Cotton Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cotton Mansion
Ranked #4 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Minneapolis
1 review
“An Anniversary hard to beat!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2008

My Husband and I came to Duluth to the Cotton Mansion in celebration of our 2nd anniversary (the "cotton" Anniversary!!) It will deffinatly be a hard anniversary to beat. The mansion was so beautiful! There was so much to take in. Beautiful wood work, AMAZING Fireplaces, and so much history! We got to stay in the Terrace suite. I would recomend this room to anyone!!! It was gorgeous! I was not expecting the beautiful fresh flowers that my husband had arranged to get with the room, and the Champagne and chocolate suprise after dinner! It was so dream like. Having Champagne on the terrace with great romantic cds playing in the background ( that they provided!!) and the city lites sparkling! It could not have been better. Even the extra details like the candles and the Bath salts for the whirl pool, great shampoo, Magazines, and really elegant Sheets. It all really shouted high class!! This was so much better than staying in a hotel! Ken and Kim really know how to make you feel welcome and spoiled!! I really hope we will be able to come back next anniversary!

  • Liked — The stuffed french toast and Romantic Setting!!!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lynn028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    10
    2
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
83
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolist
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We felt pampered, welcomed, and awed staying in this historic home on the last night of our yearly motorcycle trip with our 2 couple friends. We eagerly sampled the delicious snacks and wine upon our arrival, after a long day on the road. We were able to see each others' rooms after arriving and concluded we each had a spectacular room! The large common rooms on the main floor were elegant, beautifully maintained, and comfortable. Our group played cards in the living room in the evening, closing the "pocket doors" to keep our noise level down. Our hosts, Kimberly and Ken, were very friendly, helpful, and provided us with a delicious breakfast. The extra touches, like a stereo system in each room with romantic CDs, the soaps and shampoos, the candles by the whirlpool tubs, fluffy towels and colorful sheets, the beautifully decorated bedrooms, made our stay very memorable. We asked our hosts questions about the history of the house which they were glad to share with us, when we asked. They made sure we had all we needed. We can't wait to stay there again!

  • Liked — The romantic rooms in an historic mansion
  • Disliked — Can't have a room for just one night on the weekend
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CyclingSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2008

My husband and I were looking for a romantic getaway for our honeymoon and had heard wonderful things about Duluth's Cotton Mansion. We decided to book the Terrace Suite for three days and they were the most romantic relaxing days of my life! The whirlpool tubs, candel lit breakfast, and beautiful decorations were perfect for newlyweds. Our room was always clean and we always had fresh towels. I would recommend the Cotton Mansion to anyone looking for a romantic getaway they will remember for years.

  • Liked — The Whirlpool tub and candel lit breakfast
  • Disliked — I liked everything!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RayJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We were looking for a place in Duluth at the last minute. The Cotton Mansion had a cancellation so we booked the Terrace Suite for a Saturday night. The room could have been cleaner. There was a lot of old dust on the wood work and grills in the bathroom. The Kleenex box was empty. There were no table lamps except one by the bedside that was too dim to read by. So the harsh overhead lights were all we had to read our books by. The room was hot and stuffy, even with all the windows open so we turned the airconditioner on and blew a fuse. We called Ken and had to leave a message. This was 10 PM and maybe an hour later, we were asleep, all of a suddent the light went on and so did the air conditioner. There is a requirement of no shoes inside, but the terrace had a lot of plant debris on it. No cushions on the chairs on the terrace. It just lacked some warm and homey touches for me, which is what most people want from a B&B. Breakfast is brought to the room, but if you're an early riser, it's a long wait. The guests who go to the dining room are fed first, so breakfast in the Terrace Suite is at 9:30 AM. It was a delicious breakfast. More soft lighting and fresh air would help warm up the Terrace Suite for a relaxing stay. I don't think it was worth $265.00 per night.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room stuffy with bad lighting.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dixiecat4702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annmeyers, Owner at Cotton Mansion, responded to this review, August 7, 2008
We are a Romantic Retreat for couples. At the Cotton Mansion our mission is to meet or exceed our guests expectations.
Seldom, but occasionally something might not be right. If a concern or problem is brought to our attention, we are diligent in taking care of the issue.
However, when guests don't express a problem until they are at home on their computer, it is difficult to make them happy.
If there was a concern with lighting, we would have been able to remind them of the dimmer switch for the overhead lighting.
If they had followed the directions that they were given for using the A/C, they would not have tripped the circuit. But instead of being thankful that there was someone to correct the issue, they chose to complain about it after the fact.
Our advice is that if you are looking for a truly elegant inn to reconnect with someone you love, then Cotton Mansion is the place.
If, however, you want to spend your time crawling around looking for a miniscule amount of dust, then please try a hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimmerman, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2007

My husbnd and I have 2 children and we have made a commitment to get away for about 3 days out of the year to travel somewhere - the two of us. The objective is to go somewhere where we have never been or stayed before. This year we chose Duluth. As you know when you travel to a place that you are unfamiliar, it is simultaneously exciting, but challenging as it is not as familiar as home, and you are not as knowledable of the best places to go, eat and so on. It was fortuitous that we happened upon the Cotton Mansion, and we were fortunate for it.
When you first enter the mansion, you are surrounded by the sensation of stepping back into the early 1900's. However the elegance and sometimes regal feel eminating from the elaborate carvings of the walls, and attention to detail of the furnishings that compliment the home beautifully, are surpassed by the warmth and generosity of the owner's Ken and Kimberly. Their hospitality transformed our stay from feeling like a visitor to feeling as though we were especially welcome in their home and we were very spoiled. At breakfast we were offered a serving of sweet pineapple beautifully displayed, followed by stuffed french toast topped with roasted apple and a side of maple syrup. We saved on money on meals as we weren't hungry again until dinner! Throughout the course of our stay, Ken and Kimberly maintained a nice balance between allowing their guests to enjoy their home as if it was theirs, and being easily accessible. We enjoyed Duluth, the lake, and the local events, but the stay at the Cotton Mansions transformed our weekend from a vacation to an event.

  • Liked — The warmth and hospitality
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GWalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MInnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2007

We spent over 200 dollars booking a room here. We had to cancel, but the policy allowed for us to have a gift certificate for a future stay which we were told we would get. We were refused open rooms when we tried to rebook. I was hung up on by the owner, Ken Aparicio. He also lied on the report filed on the better business bureau. We were not given credit for a future stay which the policy had entailed...Two Hundred Dollars down the drain. Very poor customer service

  • Disliked — Horrible Customer Service
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank shaunasmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2005

I have to admit, if you don't know about this Bed & Breakfast, your missing out. There is so much history here that I did not know about.
We stayed at the Cotten Mansion on our honeymoon at the end of Oct. We were close to the harbor, tourist area, and other sites to explore. We were lost at first but when we called to get directions Ken was wonderful, he led us right to our destionation. As we pulled up we couldn't belive that the place was so big. Beautiful landscaped yard with private parking. The Mansion was well maintained and the inside... WOW! Everything was pretty much restored to original. Kimberly was very warm as she welcomed us into the B&B. Showed us around, gave a bit of history of the place then had shown us our room. We had a room that was in an adjacent building (See Pic), with no TV, (more time for each other). Breakfast is homeaid, and man can Kimberly cook, both days just knocked our socks off. Durring the breakfast, Ken had told us pretty much the whole history of the Mansion and what all entaild of bringing the place back to origianl form.
If you have travel time to Duluth. I soooo recommend the Cotten Mansion in Duluth, MN. I know with our 2nd aniversary we will plan to come back and restay the Cotten Mansion. Check them out you won't be disapointed!

Helpful?
6 Thank johnsonjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.7 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
2.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
1.5 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#14 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#8 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Mansion

Property: Cotton Mansion
Address: 2309 E 1st St, Duluth, MN 55812-1808
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's premier Historic Inn, located in the heart of Duluth's Historic Mansion District, minutes from Canal Park and the North Shore. Specializing in honeymoons, anniversaries and romantic retreats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cotton Mansion Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing