We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cotton Mansion
Nearby Hotels
$247
$198
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Inn West(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$267
$239
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$176
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $224/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Park Point Marina Inn(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park(Duluth)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$100
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canal Park Lodge(Duluth)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
91
12
2
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
12
2
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace suitestuffed french toastjames roombed and breakfastother guestscouple runningb bsfirst morningmain floorrelaxing weekendcommon areascanal parkkimberlyhostsfireplacefoyersunroom
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 115 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I just got back from a wonderful 2 night stay at the Cotton Mansion, for our Honeymoon. We stayed in the carriage house in the Bella Flora room. Ken walked through our room with us explaining where the fridge, coffee, how the Jacuzzi tub worked as well as the shower. The bed was very comfortable, gas fire place was gorgeous. The room was clean, large, private and very cozy. They provided lavender candles, bath salts, shampoo, conditioner and even lotion. The Jacuzzi tub had an included heater that kept the water warm for as long as you wanted to enjoy it.

The mansion was built early 1900's. They have kept/restored all original furniture, wood work and light fixtures. It is beautiful. Ken ran through the entire history of the house and Cotton family during breakfast at our request.

They make AMAZING breakfasts. The first morning they made eggs Benedict with fresh fruit and an apple muffin. The second morning they served fresh pineapple with stuffed french toast. Very good!

We plan to go back!

Room Tip: The Bella Flora room in the Carriage house was great!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were in hopes for a relaxing winter get away and found ' The Cottage Mansion' online. Upon arrival all the doors to the house were locked. The knobs sticky with remnants of electrical tape. We waited in the cold for ten minutes until the owner conveniently decided to come to the door. unfortunatly the owners did not consider welcoming us, but instead quickly asked us for our debitcard and again disappeared for 10-15 minutes. many of the public rooms had broken glass in the cabinets, stains on the furniture, dust, dust and more dust. The food was was definatly below average. We tried our best to enjoy our wkend in the dirty 'mansion.' After we checked out we recieved an email claiming they had found 'stains' in the room we had stayed and had already charged our debit card to replace the low quality blanket that supposedly had 'stains' that appeared. We were shocked and ferious they had made a false claim, Had not bothered to call us first to discuss the problem and finally not having our permission,verbal or signed to charge our credit card. Our phone calls went unanswered when we tried to call. We asked for photos to be emailed to us of the supposed 'damage' but again nothing. we quickly had to cancel our debit card so they could not continue to charge us bogus 'fees'. There was no explication by email. Our debit card account bounced because of the unspeakable 'replacement fee' they charged us. Finally our bank had to be involved. After investigation the bank found the money had been falsely taken and our money was returned to us. A very disappointing and long weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mpost2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annmeyers, Owner at Cotton Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

We are the recipient of Trip Advisor's 2012 Certificate of Excellence. In order to have attained this achievement we would not have the type of business which is described in this review.
The review does not describe our property. We do not have any cabinets with glass (broken or otherwise) and have no furniture or furnishings with stains. Although our doors are kept locked for the safety and security of our guests, we NEVER collect a guest's credit card until they have had a property orientation and given keys to the house and their room.
We would be happy to address the described issue, but we have not had any experience of this magnitude and would never charge a customer's credit card for anything without their knowledge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this beautiful mansion. We had purchased a crowd-cut coupon and were somewhat apprehensive as our last experience at a B&B (with a crowd-cut coupon) had been a disaster. Well, we loved every minute of it. The Belle Cotton suite was beautiful. The mansion has been restored to the luxury of yesteryear. An added bonus was that all the other guests that stayed there were very pleasant breakfast companions. I can't wait to book another stay at the Cotton Mansion. I have recommended this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We spent two nights at The Cotton Mansion early in the summer season. The home is in a lovely, historic neighborhood and within a nice walking distance of Lake Superior. This common rooms are large and have a number of smaller areas to gather so you can enjoy the space without feeling like you're intruding on other guests. The architectural details make perusing the home a treat. We stayed in a quiet room at the back of the house. We especially enjoyed being able to have a real fire in our fireplace! The hosts were accommodating and informative. Breakfast was delicious. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerseidGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this B&B twice - in the Terrace Suite both times. It's a wonderful place to get away! For being in a neighborhood, it's incredibly QUIET. You'll have no idea that you're in Duluth, and not far from downtown at all. The food is served as fine dining and Kim and Ken did a wonderful job accomodating our vegetarian diets. The food was amazing! The Terrace Suite is such a grand room, but we've never actually used the terrace as we've only stayed in the winter months. This B&B is a wonderful place to spend some quiet time together with your spouse. As with other B&B's, the hosts are available around meal time and are just a phone call away if you need anything throughout the day. I would love for there to be coffee and munchies available more often.

Room Tip: Terrace Suite is amazing!! Next time I go, I plan to stay in the Bell Cotton Suite or the Carriage House, so I can experience more of this B&B!
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlwaysOutOfOffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews