We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for the kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society

Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society
Ranked #30 of 94 things to do in Duluth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located 10 minutes from Downtown Duluth, the zoo offers year-round recreational opportunities for animal lovers of all ages. This zoo features animals from around the world. You'll find Amur Tigers, Snow Leopards, African Lions, Kangaroos, Lemurs, Tamarins, plus a variety of birds, reptiles, primates and barnyard animals. The Lake Superior Zoo is situated on 16 acres of rocky hills, majestic pines and beautiful Kingsbury Creek. Visit our website for information on our educational camps and programs, upcoming events and how you can host an event at the zoo. Open Daily All Year Long. June - September 9am - 5pm and October - May 10am - 4pm
Ontario
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a beautiful morning at the zoo today. Sun was shining and the animals were out and about. The zoo is nicely laid out with beautiful scenery to take in at various points on the property. It's not large so my three year old was able to walk the entire zoo without difficulty. Staff was pleasant. My one year old was equally enthralled. We used a coupon from a booklet that we found in the hotel but admission was not outrageous. The train was not running when we arrived for 9 am ,it didn't start running until 11 am and the petting zoo was also closed. Other than that, the kids had a great time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CanErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Public Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thanks for your comments and we are so glad you had a great day at the zoo. We strive to be an affordable, family friendly attraction.

Volunteers play an important role here at the zoo and we rely heavily on them to staff our barnyard for animal encounters with our sheep and goats. Unfortunately, all of these visits must be supervised for the safety of our guests and animals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    58
    27
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northern Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A long way to go to recover”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Late June 2014 we visited. This was 2 years after the flood which devestated the area. You can see that this was once a really great attraction, but 2 years later only the visitors center is without scars. Rock formations which used to include waterfalls now look like lime encrusted sinks. Entire sections of the zoo are shut down and uncared for. Little signs let you know what happened the the animals there including deaths and drownings. This was the most depressing place I have ever paid to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ghoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Public Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Since receiving your feedback we have posted informational signage at the main admissions window and at the now defunct Polar Shores exhibit explaining what occurred on June 20, 2012 and the devastation it left behind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, Michigan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cool zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We got there as soon as it opened and it was drizzling rain. Started out in a building with a few different animals and different rooms, also some taxidermy which I thought a bit unusual for a zoo. Went out and straight for the bears as we always do. They were still cleaning out their area so we had to wait. But, then 2 big old bears came out and naturally went to the food. We spent quite of bit of time photographing them. Wandered around saw quite a few animals and talked to several employees. It was nice despite the rain. We had lunch and it was delicious. I would go back if I was in the area?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laciport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Public Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your visit to the Lake Superior Zoo. You are correct, taxidermy specimens are unusual for a zoo. They were gifted to the zoo many, many years ago by Duluth tycoon and philanthropist Richard L. Griggs. He provided $25,000 to build a wing on the main building of the zoo to house the collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing :-/”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We came for another visit to see how the Zoo has recovered from the flood which we happened to have been there that very day two years ago. ( The kangaroos were even hiding out with us from all the rain that day- that was a memory I will never forget!) I can see the Zoo is trying to get things back to normal but lots of displays were empty and as one person reviewed- there really is a crow in a cage... Weird. It was a cooler cloudy Duluth day but the entire place was just depressing and empty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Public Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
The weather in Duluth can be challenging for visitors, no doubt. When you do catch a beautiful summer Duluth day the zoo is a wonderful place to visit!

On June 20, 2012 the Lake Superior Zoo, along with the rest of the Northland, experienced a devastating flood. The zoo’s Polar Shores exhibit was severely damaged and was subsequently closed. The animals have been relocated to other accredited zoos or are being housed off-exhibit at the zoo. The Lake Superior Zoological Society (the non-profit organization that operates the zoo), the City of Duluth (the owners of the zoo) and the community are working together to determine the future vision for this exhibit and for the Lake Superior Zoo.

Why does the zoo have a crow in its collection? Our crow Draven came to us from a wildlife rehabilitation organization after he was hit by a car and had a partial wing amputation. He provides our visitors an opportunity to have an up-close experience with this common, but interesting bird. In addition, one of our zookeepers has a special interest in corvids and is using her expertise to help the critically endangered Hawaiian crow, also known as ‘Alala.

Did you know that crows have been known to make and use tools to help them in locating and obtaining food? They also have over 20 different calls- not just the common “caw”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very nice zoo for children and adults alike, in an attractive location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

The zoo was damaged by a 500 year flood of Kingsbury Creek in June of 2012. All but one exhibit have been reopened since then. It takes about 2 hours to get through the exhibits and we were entertained by all of them. They gave helpful information at each exhibit for you to learn about the animals.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PEGGY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Public Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments about the Lake Superior Zoo. We appreciate your comments about the things you learned while visiting us. Education is a very big part of our mission.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society also viewed

 

Been to Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing