We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long way to go to recover”

Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society
Ranked #25 of 95 things to do in Duluth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located 10 minutes from Downtown Duluth, the zoo offers year-round recreational opportunities for animal lovers of all ages. This zoo features animals from around the world. You'll find Amur Tigers, Snow Leopards, African Lions, Kangaroos, Lemurs, Tamarins, plus a variety of birds, reptiles, primates and barnyard animals. The Lake Superior Zoo is situated on 16 acres of rocky hills, majestic pines and beautiful Kingsbury Creek. Visit our website for information on our educational camps and programs, upcoming events and how you can host an event at the zoo. Open Daily All Year Long. June - September 9am - 5pm and October - May 10am - 4pm
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Late June 2014 we visited. This was 2 years after the flood which devestated the area. You can see that this was once a really great attraction, but 2 years later only the visitors center is without scars. Rock formations which used to include waterfalls now look like lime encrusted sinks. Entire sections of the zoo are shut down and uncared for. Little signs let you know what happened the the animals there including deaths and drownings. This was the most depressing place I have ever paid to visit.

2  Thank ghoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Public Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for your comments. Since receiving your feedback we have posted informational signage at the main admissions window and at the now defunct Polar Shores exhibit explaining what occurred on June 20, 2012 and the devastation it left behind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"nocturnal exhibit"
in 8 reviews
"polar bears"
in 6 reviews
"great animals"
in 5 reviews
"couple years"
in 7 reviews
"big cats"
in 3 reviews
"snow leopard"
in 2 reviews
"enrichment activities"
in 2 reviews
"snapping turtle"
in 2 reviews
"small train"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful waterfall"
in 2 reviews
"educational place"
in 2 reviews
"small city"
in 3 reviews
"short hike"
in 2 reviews
"fun visit"
in 2 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 3 reviews
"great attraction"
in 2 reviews
"walk around"
in 4 reviews
Filter

152 - 156 of 198 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

We got there as soon as it opened and it was drizzling rain. Started out in a building with a few different animals and different rooms, also some taxidermy which I thought a bit unusual for a zoo. Went out and straight for the bears as we always do. They were still cleaning out their area so we had to wait. But, then 2 big old bears came out and naturally went to the food. We spent quite of bit of time photographing them. Wandered around saw quite a few animals and talked to several employees. It was nice despite the rain. We had lunch and it was delicious. I would go back if I was in the area?

1  Thank Laciport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Public Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for your comments about your visit to the Lake Superior Zoo. You are correct, taxidermy specimens are unusual for a zoo. They were gifted to the zoo many, many years ago by Duluth tycoon and philanthropist Richard L. Griggs. He provided $25,000 to build a wing on the main building of the zoo to house the collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We came for another visit to see how the Zoo has recovered from the flood which we happened to have been there that very day two years ago. ( The kangaroos were even hiding out with us from all the rain that day- that was a memory I will never forget!) I can see the Zoo is trying to get things back to normal but lots of displays were empty and as one person reviewed- there really is a crow in a cage... Weird. It was a cooler cloudy Duluth day but the entire place was just depressing and empty.

2  Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Public Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

The weather in Duluth can be challenging for visitors, no doubt. When you do catch a beautiful summer Duluth day the zoo is a wonderful place to visit!

On June 20, 2012 the Lake Superior Zoo, along with the rest of the Northland, experienced a devastating flood. The zoo’s Polar Shores exhibit was severely damaged and was subsequently closed. The animals have been relocated to other accredited zoos or are being housed off-exhibit at the zoo. The Lake Superior Zoological Society (the non-profit organization that operates the zoo), the City of Duluth (the owners of the zoo) and the community are working together to determine the future vision for this exhibit and for the Lake Superior Zoo.

Why does the zoo have a crow in its collection? Our crow Draven came to us from a wildlife rehabilitation organization after he was hit by a car and had a partial wing amputation. He provides our visitors an opportunity to have an up-close experience with this common, but interesting bird. In addition, one of our zookeepers has a special interest in corvids and is using her expertise to help the critically endangered Hawaiian crow, also known as ‘Alala.

Did you know that crows have been known to make and use tools to help them in locating and obtaining food? They also have over 20 different calls- not just the common “caw”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The zoo was damaged by a 500 year flood of Kingsbury Creek in June of 2012. All but one exhibit have been reopened since then. It takes about 2 hours to get through the exhibits and we were entertained by all of them. They gave helpful information at each exhibit for you to learn about the animals.

2  Thank PEGGY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Public Relations Manager at Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for your comments about the Lake Superior Zoo. We appreciate your comments about the things you learned while visiting us. Education is a very big part of our mission.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I can't tell you enough how much my family enjoys the Lake Superior Zoo. We have a family membership and use it a ton during the summer months but we decided to go last weekend when it was still winter "looking" outside but the temps were nice. Not only did we get to see our favorite grizzly Bear Trouble playing with a large white barrel like there was something sweet inside trying desperately to get the lid off, but we also got to see an enrichment with the monkeys eating a snack off the I pads, it was incredible. We also got to talk with a zoo keeper doing an enrichment with an animal in the nocturnal part of the zoo, he explained lots of things to us about the animals he was working with, found out animals have jealousy issues too. We also caught the last few minutes of the birds training, which we have seen before as well. Love to hear the birds talk. You just never know what you will get to see when you go to the zoo! This is a highly recommended attraction in Duluth MN especially if you have children.

2  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society also viewed

 

Been to Lake Superior Zoo & Zoological Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing