We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An inspiring, romantic stay at the heart of a beautiful harbor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
1 review
“An inspiring, romantic stay at the heart of a beautiful harbor”
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Everything was perfect! The suites are very roomy and clean. The in-room spa was very relaxing and enjoyable for us both. The curly maple furniture was very nice too. We were going to do some internet work, but the view was just too captivating. To top off the evening, a small sailboat crewed by a skillful couple practice tacking and jibing for quite a while near the bay side of the Inn. The wide view from our suite provided a perfect view of their evening sail. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachstroller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    90
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
61
262
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed 1 night to celebrate our anniversary and I managed to leave behind the gold earrings my husband gave me on our wedding day! I called to ask if they had been found on the bedside table, but they were not there. The staff took my word that I had left them and did not stop looking until they found them in the laundry!! And then, as if they had not done enough, they hand delivered the earrings to me in St. Paul!! I can not say enough about how great this inn is! The location was perfect, the beauty of the room was a close contender to the amazing view of the harbor and canal bridge, and the service during our stay was very friendly and accommodating! The building design is beautiful, modern yet charming. I will stay here again the first opportunity I get!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rinrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2009

We have stayed at the South Pier Inn three times this year and each time was outstanding. The location of the hotel and the views from our room of the Aerial Lift Bridge and the 1000 foot vessels that passed by were incredible. The hotel is very clean and cozy and the staff is extremely accommodating. They offer a delightful complimentary continent breakfast and it is just a short walk across the Ariel Bridge to shopping, sight seeing and great restaurants. We are looking forward to our next weekend get away at the South Pier Inn.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We stayed in a jacuzzi room on the first floor facing the St. Louis Bay . It was the perfect place to relax after a harried month. Great location. It was right next to the Aerial Lift Bridge and the Canal Park Business District with terrific restaurants and shops. It was on one end of Park Point neighborhood which is quite trendy. The views were supurb, the room was spotless, and our time at the hotel was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewitt006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redwing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

The location of the South Pier Inn couldn't be finer! Situated right underneath the Aerial lift bridge,with views of the canal and harbor as well as downtown Duluth. However that was the end of what should have been a wonderful stay. Shortly after arrival in our room a deluge of water poured from the light fixture above the in room whirlpool. Happily, there was another available room. Almost instantly, we realized that a previous guest had been smoking in the room. As we looked around we also noticed numerous stains on the carpet, and an overall lack of cleanliness in the room, this led to our THIRD move. This room also had housekeeping problems----- greasy hand marks on exterior door, glass door and windows with very visable finger marks, MOLD on lower edge of shower curtain, HAIR in shower, dirty grout in bathroom, as well as carpet stains in living room areas.
The sofa bed was so badly in need of replacement, that I remade the bed and slept on the sofa for the entire night.
While checking out we brought all of our concerns to the front desk It was obvious that there was a complete lack of staff training and no one knew how to deal with our concerns. They obviously did not have the authority to rectify any of our problems. When I asked if we could contact the manager they responded by saying...he is out of town right now. I sugggested that they at least try to contact him by leaving him a message on his cell phone. After all, we did need to be compensated for moving not once, but three times not to mention the lack of overrall lack of cleanliness.
We made our concerns clear in writing and a returned call from management offered us A COMPLIMENTARY ROOM FROM NOVEMBER THROUGH APRIL, "remember this is Duluth, Minnesota" , they are offering us a room during the off season, we paid high season weekend prices! On top of that we come from Phoenix and have no intention of being in Duluth with 3 feet of snow and temperatures well below zero. Quite a compensation, eh! Eventually, after a long and intense telephone conversation with Mr. Robinson the manager of the hotel...he justified a 50% disount on our bill as being the same as comping us a room when the hotel is empty during the Duluth's frigid winter.
In retrospect, a great location is only great when accompanied by those attributes that make any hotel a sought out destination. Customer service and satisfaction being the most important of all.
We will be disbuting the bill in it's entirety.
There are other hotels for you to consider that also have lovely views. Here are some suggestions.
Inn's of Superior
Comfort Inn
Fitger's

Good luck Duluth is a great place to visit despite our recent stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hummous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2009

I travel for business all over the US. When I get to Duluth I always enjoy the South Pier Inn. They've got the formula just right: great rooms, comfortable beds, a view that lives up to the expectation, scrupulously clean & well maintained facilties, and simple elegant decor that doesn't detract from the great setting. I've returned many times, including for business and pleasure, and will be back. They focus on the accommodations -- no pool, no pets, no cigarettes and that's the way I like it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPipestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2009

A unique place to stay. Enjoyed visiting with the owners who are knowledgeable about the history of the island of Park Point, the lift bridge and off the beaten track places to see.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paigepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 33 in Duluth
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
1.0 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#14 of 33 in Duluth
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Property: South Pier Inn on the Canal
Address: 701 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing