We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2005

Excellent view if you are a boat watcher!! It is a bit spendy to stay here but the view is worth it! Dont expect much for breakfast ... only pastries/muffins/fruit/coffee, which I think at the price you pay for the room they could have a better breakfast. My only big complaint was that we were on the 1st floor next to the stairs going upstairs and it was very noisy wuth people walking around .... I would think a newer building would be more soundproof!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SueWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 445 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
26
Reviewed July 28, 2004

We have stayed at South Pier Inn twice in the last year. The hotel location along the canal/waterfront is fantastic. 1000 ft ships go right past your balcony if you get a canal side room. Aerial bridge also can be viewed from room. All canal park attractions are within walking distance of hotel. EVERY time we visit Duluth we will stay here at the South Pier Inn.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2004

Would select 'no dot' if that were an option. Apparently management doesn't think that NO HOT WATER is a problem. Called front desk who informed me that they would contact the owner who lives several blocks away. Front desk called back stating owner would be there in less than 1/2 hour to correct problem. Owner never showed up, never called, never left note on door. No rate reduction offered at checkout and a grudging apology given. Desk clerk said they did not have comment cards. Figures......

8  Thank Maximumsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1074
Reviewed July 4, 2004

The hotel is amazing for every right reason. The design of the building fits in with its surroundings and is designed to maximize guests views, everything on the canal side is so close its impressive. The staff, especially the night guy (Matt) were helpful in and courteous. While there the weather was not cooperating but they were able to help us out and still make our visit to Duluth great.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2004

Our family of 4 just got home from a 3 night mini-vacation to Duluth. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the South Pier Inn. We chose to stay at the South Pier because they were offering(via their website) a "Buy 2 nights, get the third night free" offer on their rooms. Our room was $149 per night but with the offer, we actually averaged $100 per night. (Panoramic room not included). We settled on the two room waterfront suite(#702 to be exact) and were on the harbor side of the hotel. This turned out to be the best choice for my husband and I as well as our two young children. Our room had views of the harbor after the ships crossed under the aerial lift bridge and rounded the corner. If you prefer to see the bridge lift up and down, you may want to get a room on the canal side. However, know that there is a walkway on the canal side and it was very easy to see into those suites from the walkway.

Other things to note:the parking lot is not very big as two separate trucks pulling their boats found out. The continental breakfast consists of bagels, doughnuts, muffins, juice and coffee. It was sufficient for us. The two room suite had a jacuzzi which our children enjoyed.

Overall a great hotel, good service and a great location. We took several walking trips across the bridge(one to the Great Lakes Aquarium and one just to try the lakewalk.) It is not far to walk at all.

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mlempx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minnetonka, MN
13
Reviewed May 18, 2004

My kids and I spent the most wonderful weekend in Duluth at the South Pier Inn. It was bitterly cold outside, but we were toasty warm in our hot tub and cozy, thick robes. We took three hot tubs in two days - watched the ice cracking directly outside our window - and enjoyed the most beautiful sunny blue sky through the enormous windows of our corner suite. My kids thought this was about as good as it gets - and so did Mom. The staff was friendly and helpful and complimentary breakfast in the inviting lobby area was a treat. I rate this above any other place I have ever stayed.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mankato MN
13
Reviewed April 27, 2004

My husband and I stayed at the South Pier Inn for our anniversary in February. We found the panoramic suite to be wonderful and romantic. The view from the whirlpool was awesome! Everything about our stay was excellent, we didnt want to leave.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 31 in Duluth
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Address: 701 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $115 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing