We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect place to relax on the lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Pier Inn on the Canal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, MN
1 review
“Perfect place to relax on the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

We stayed in a jacuzzi room on the first floor facing the St. Louis Bay . It was the perfect place to relax after a harried month. Great location. It was right next to the Aerial Lift Bridge and the Canal Park Business District with terrific restaurants and shops. It was on one end of Park Point neighborhood which is quite trendy. The views were supurb, the room was spotless, and our time at the hotel was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewitt006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    80
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
51
228
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
redwing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

The location of the South Pier Inn couldn't be finer! Situated right underneath the Aerial lift bridge,with views of the canal and harbor as well as downtown Duluth. However that was the end of what should have been a wonderful stay. Shortly after arrival in our room a deluge of water poured from the light fixture above the in room whirlpool. Happily, there was another available room. Almost instantly, we realized that a previous guest had been smoking in the room. As we looked around we also noticed numerous stains on the carpet, and an overall lack of cleanliness in the room, this led to our THIRD move. This room also had housekeeping problems----- greasy hand marks on exterior door, glass door and windows with very visable finger marks, MOLD on lower edge of shower curtain, HAIR in shower, dirty grout in bathroom, as well as carpet stains in living room areas.
The sofa bed was so badly in need of replacement, that I remade the bed and slept on the sofa for the entire night.
While checking out we brought all of our concerns to the front desk It was obvious that there was a complete lack of staff training and no one knew how to deal with our concerns. They obviously did not have the authority to rectify any of our problems. When I asked if we could contact the manager they responded by saying...he is out of town right now. I sugggested that they at least try to contact him by leaving him a message on his cell phone. After all, we did need to be compensated for moving not once, but three times not to mention the lack of overrall lack of cleanliness.
We made our concerns clear in writing and a returned call from management offered us A COMPLIMENTARY ROOM FROM NOVEMBER THROUGH APRIL, "remember this is Duluth, Minnesota" , they are offering us a room during the off season, we paid high season weekend prices! On top of that we come from Phoenix and have no intention of being in Duluth with 3 feet of snow and temperatures well below zero. Quite a compensation, eh! Eventually, after a long and intense telephone conversation with Mr. Robinson the manager of the hotel...he justified a 50% disount on our bill as being the same as comping us a room when the hotel is empty during the Duluth's frigid winter.
In retrospect, a great location is only great when accompanied by those attributes that make any hotel a sought out destination. Customer service and satisfaction being the most important of all.
We will be disbuting the bill in it's entirety.
There are other hotels for you to consider that also have lovely views. Here are some suggestions.
Inn's of Superior
Comfort Inn
Fitger's

Good luck Duluth is a great place to visit despite our recent stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hummous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

I travel for business all over the US. When I get to Duluth I always enjoy the South Pier Inn. They've got the formula just right: great rooms, comfortable beds, a view that lives up to the expectation, scrupulously clean & well maintained facilties, and simple elegant decor that doesn't detract from the great setting. I've returned many times, including for business and pleasure, and will be back. They focus on the accommodations -- no pool, no pets, no cigarettes and that's the way I like it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPipestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

A unique place to stay. Enjoyed visiting with the owners who are knowledgeable about the history of the island of Park Point, the lift bridge and off the beaten track places to see.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paigepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin cities
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

My husband and I have been going to the South Pier Inn for the last 3 years. We went on a tour when they were having an open house to see what they were like and have never stayed any place else since. The rooms are clean, worker' s are friendly, and the front desk staff is willing to help in way they can. The view from your room is fantastic. Standing on your private deck you get the greatest view of the large ships going in and out of the harbor. The front desk will even call you during the night when the ships go through if you ask them to. We never move our car from the time we get there until the time we leave. You can walk across the bridge for shopping, eating, walking on the boardwalk, and enjoying the sights of Duluth. Walking on the beach at sunrise or sunset is truly beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 45stays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

This place should be shut down for the way they treated us.  We brought our 5 pound adorable Yorkie without reading the pet policy.  They charged us $100 for a pet violation policy and WOULD NOT let us stay in the hotel with our little dog.  So, they committed credit card fraud by charging our card $800 and not rendering services.  Their Mgr, Brandon, said we could pay $50 per night and still stay there.  Then, one of the Owners, Bonnie, said we would be charged and could not stay there!  We drove 3 hours to get to the hotel and had no idea that such a tiny dog would be an issue.  The room was far overpriced and not that nice to begin with and we were forced to stay at the Holiday Inn.  DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL.  THE HOTEL DESERVES TO GO OUT OF BUSINESS FOR SUCH UNETHICAL BUSINESS PRACTICES.  We never intended to violate a policy and it was an honest mistake.  They treated us so poorly and essentially conconcted a shameless way to make almost $1000 and not render services.  

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BradHoag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthPierInn, General Manager at South Pier Inn on the Canal, responded to this review, June 22, 2009
We love animals. Unfortunately, some of our guests are allergic to pet dander. If one of our guests stayed in a room that had had even a cute little Yorkie in it, they could have an adverse physical reaction that could ruin their stay with us.

We learned that there was a dog in this guest's room when another guest called and complained about a barking dog.

South Pier Inn certainly did not charge this guest for services not rendered. A friend of this guest who was staying at another Duluth hotel that is pet friendly exchanged hotel rooms with this guest and the problem was solved. This guest's friend told us he was very pleased with his stay at South Pier Inn.

We are sorry that this guest was upset; however, we need to look out for all of our guests. When we advertise a no-pet room, it would be unfair to put future guests at risk of an adverse reaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

The family owners of the South Pier Inn have thought of everything to make each visit a special memory. The Jacuzzi, cozy fireplace, contemporary decor, complimentary continental breakfast and helpful staff are amenities one does not find at every hotel or inn, no matter what the price. The views of the harbor , Aerial lift bridge and skyline of Duluth is "to die for." We enthusiastically recommend the South Pier Inn.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jvillager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Property: South Pier Inn on the Canal
Address: 701 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing