We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Hotel for the Business Traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Hotel for the Business Traveler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

Every business traveler wants a nice place at a reasonable cost with lots of amenities. This hotel has complementary high speed internet, breakfast, etc like a lot of hotels. But what makes this one so special is the attention to detail from the staff and the excellent European styling and ambiance plus includes a gas fireplace, jacuzzi, multiple TV's, multiple phones, balcony, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, etc. The views of 1000' ocean going tankers & ships are worth twice the price of the room. They are right out your window. In the summer you might have 15 or more in a 24 hour period. The hotel even provides the times on incoming and out going vessels and will even give you a wake up call to see one of them if you ask. A simply great place to work and relax. Restaurants, shops, and museums within walking distance. I love this place when I'm in town on business. I wouldn't stay any other place even if it was free.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdedolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    87
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
57
247
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

My husband and I stay in a "nice" place each year over the Columbus Day holiday. It is our way of saying goodbye to the North Shore for the season (we stay closer to home during the winter).

What a wonderful place! We new it would be great just for the proximity to the Aerial Lift Bridge and the shipping canal (we are real boat watchers). It certainly did not disappoint! The hotel will even call you in the middle of the night if you request a "bridge call", so you can pop out of bed, run to the window, and watch the excitement of a ship entering or leaving the harbor.

The panoramic suite is pricey ($269), but worth every penny. It was large and had lots of amenities (gas fireplace, 2-person jacuzzi, fridge, microwave, bar sink, thirsty terry robes and towels, etc.) The staff was helpful and friendly.

The place was romantic, a great location, comfortable. We will definitely go again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed - only average - should have been Sleepnumber or Tempurpedic
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mudders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulldog Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

Stayed a couple of nights Sept 2008.
The best location in Duluth! And you pay a premium.
Right on the canal. Watched the aerial bridge go up and down for fishing boats and big Great Lakes freighters. Easy walk to and from local restaurants, shopping, and the board walk on the lake.
Rooms were very comfortable and the jacuzzi was excellent looking out towards the canal.
The continental breakfast was meager. Coffee was ok, but the lobby small and cramped. No hot items for breakfast (not like a Hampton). Quite a few unwanted flies around.
The hotel staff was attentive, but a bit distant (front desk). The housekeeping staff excellent.
I would highly recommend for a great stay, and hope that the management make a few adjustments to really make this the excellent property it can be.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank IbetchaYubetcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

The staff was fantastic and the room was even better! We had a room right on the canal. It was a 2 minute walk to the shopping, eating and attractions of Canal Park. The ships that go by can almost be touched. The balcony was a perfect size for hanging out on and we can't wait to go back. Make sure you request a room with water view, otherwise it's just a hotel room. The water side rooms are what makes this hotel worth the money ($200ish/night).

  • Liked — The view of the city, canal and Canal Park!!!!
  • Disliked — Not all rooms have a water view, so make sure you request one. If you can't get one of these rooms, you may want to look elsewhere for a cheaper room.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenosha2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

Clean, spacious rooms at a great price. Can't beat the location - the hotel is located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge. They offer wake-up calls for ship viewing, if desired.

Great service overall. Free Wi-Fi throughout and a free PC in the lobby.

If I was to go again, I would spend a little bit more and get a room with a canal view.

  • Liked — Location and value.
  • Disliked — Breakfast area was a bit cramped.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TeamARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

The hotel was very new and clean, and while our room did not face the water or the city (rather it faced the parking lot), there was still lots of natura light that came in through the windows and the balcony door. There was a just-okay continental breakfast served in the morning, but later on there were cookies and coffee in the hotel lobby, and a few tables and chairs set up where you could read the paper and look out at the Aerial Lift Bridge (the hotel is literally RIGHT next the the bridge - great location!). We were very happy with our stay there.

  • Liked — The bright, cheery room and the good location
  • Disliked — The girls at the front desk were a bit cold
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank slubatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redondo beach, ca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2008

Just returned from a stay of 6 nights at the South Pier Inn on the Canal in Duluth,MN.
What an awesome surprize to find this little hotel on about the best piece of property one could imagine!
We were as close to the Aerial Lift Bridge as one could be without being the operator. Of course, the view of not only the canal but of the hillside of Duluth was stupendous as we relaxed in our personal hot-tub in the privacy of our suite.
Our bed, including the linens, was one the most comfortable we have found in any hotel.
The daily 'serve yourself' refreshments in the little community room were a nice add-on th an already great experience.
Each one of the staff were very gracious & helpful. Visiting with some of the owners was also a very nice & personal touch.
We very highly recommend this little intimate hotel to anyone planning a trip to the Duluth area. We look forward to returning someday.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kathyRedondoBeach_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Property: South Pier Inn on the Canal
Address: 701 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing