We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Pier Inn on the Canal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

A fantastic location. Right next to the aerial bridge. We had canal side and loved the chance to sit on the balcony and watch the ships come in and go out. You can even get a wake up call in the middle of the night to watch them. The fireplace was warm and the bathroom huge. I like the private entrances - kept things quiet. Didn't have to worry about parking and could walk to the canal area. Only negative we had was the front staff were not friendly in the morning. They need to be visible during the breakfast time to answer questions and they seemed to run to the back and hide.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beeg1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    76
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
45
222
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 30th anniversary. The room was great! Very spacious, more like an apartment. The view was fabulous! We loved the private balcony.
There were a few negatives. The front desk staff was not very friendly. The complimentary breakfast was not very good. The bed was very large but not very comfortable. And the wifi was so slow that it was unusable.
However, the good outweighed the bad and we plan to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbeth82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We have stayed here 3 times over the past few years. Last visit was about a month ago. This is one of the cleanest inns we have stayed at over the years. Rooms right next to aerial lift bridge so view of ships going in and out is great. Balcony nice size. Room had Jacuzzi, fireplace, sitting area, refrigerator etc. Bed very comfortable. Nice continental breakfast. This is a family run inn. Everyone we came in contact with was friendly and very helpful. Would definitely stay here again. Have stayed in winter also with no ships to look at. Very warm and inviting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveinns03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I selected this hotel based on reviews here. Yes it is expensive but worth every penny in my opinion. We had never been to Duluth and wanted to see Lake Superior. You feel like you have Lake Superior in your back yard and the inn is adjacent to the Aerial Bridge. The
Hotel will call you when a vessel is passing so you don't miss the bridge raising. There are several paths here so you can view the lake from different areas and the inn makes it easy to walk across the bridge to area restaurants.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ArTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nice, small place with terrific views of the lift bridge and harbor from your room. Perfect location--close access to some of the best places to eat in town and the canal park area. Clean and comfortable rooms. Worth getting a bridge side room.

Room Tip: 202 was a fantastic room. Anything w/ a bridge view would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenshoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

So many great things about this boutique-type hotel. First, the architectural style and the setting are so picturesque. Great location...removed from the touristy area by the canal and bridge but close enough to walk. The peolpe that worked there were so very nice and eager to help. I did not have a bridge or harbor view but could see the lake from my balcony window. They have a complimentary breakfast and items are available all day. The rooms were nice, clean, and had everything you could need...coffee pot and coffee, hair dryer, mini fridge, iron and board, etc. I would stay here over the overpriced, bigger hotels right on the lake.

Room Tip: If you want the great view you need to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 167mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

First let me say two things: 1) I rarely write reviews of places, and 2) I would stay at the South Pier Inn again in a heartbeat! I booked a Harbor View Room for 3 nights. The room had an OUTSTANDING view, tons of windows, a LARGE bathroom, a shower, a jacuzzi, a fireplace and a refrigeratori! Each harbor side room also have a small but private balcony that allow you to sit outside enjoying the beautiful views. So Awesome! The room and hotel were also very clean. I also appreciated the fact that they allowed the guest to have towels and linens changed daily or not (I opted not to have them changed during my stay). The staff was warm and friendly and accommodating. The entire experience allowed me to have a wonderful change of scenery and a very relaxing stay. LOVE the South Pier Inn!!

Room Tip: I would ask for a harbor view or channel view room if you want a view other than the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#11 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Property: South Pier Inn on the Canal
Address: 701 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing