We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and you can walk to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just came back from an awesome stay at South Pier Inn. You can walk to everything that downtown Duluth has to offer and enjoy a long walk down the beach. Watching the ships pass by your room is a unique experience. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for South Pier Inn on the Canal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 431 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

I love Duluth, and this hotel is perfect. I would definitely go back. Like another reviewer said - great views, luxurious rooms and fantastic location - close proximity to Canal Park but great seclusion.

Pros:
*Close to all the action but also secluded.
*Limited rooms so private feel
*Free continental breakfast including delicious coffee
*Luxurious rooms and hot tub
*Awesome views and nice balcony
*Fluffy robes

Con
*Harbor view is not nearly as exciting as a bridge view and no view of Lake Superior (Room 701 has a harbor view)

Room Tip: Get a bridge view room - the harbor view is a little boring. If you get Room 601, you should be abl...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 562gingerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a long weekend trip for my birthday with my husband. Went back and forth between hotels before settling on South Pier Inn. Check-in girl was aloof and uninterested. Room was clean and comfortable with amazing views and great location. Some updating in the bathroom was needed (fan and sink had loud shrieking sound). Only really bad thing was the cleaning of the room. We used the jacuzzi tub one night and I was irritated it wasn't cleaned the next day. It deterred me from using for the rest of our stay. Really, the only "cleaning" that was done was restocking towels and making the bed. Hotel needs work in this area. Otherwise good stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JRay81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has great views, luxurious rooms, and a perfect location just close enough to Canal Park but far enough away for some seclusion. The location just great, plus there are a limited number of rooms so it had a private feeling other larger hotels nearby do not. Staff were courteous and accommodating. We'll be back!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

The only issue we had during our stay was the water pressure in the shower. It was ridiculously low. But this didn't justify a lower rating because the time we stepped in until the time we left everything was just awesome. The hotel the view and especially the staff. I would come back anytime.

I forgot to mention. Jessica was awesome.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Twinkle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This place is just perfect. They have the best views, friendly staff, amazing rooms, great prices, and not too touristy. There are fireplaces in many of the rooms and Jacuzzis. I only hope this does not get too popular and then I won't be able to get a room next time!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a lake or canal view
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Highly recommend this hotel. Customer service is exceptional. We were made to feel very welcome. Our Lakeview room was nice & bright with a great view of the Aerial Lift Bridge. Enjoyed the continental breakfast & afternoon coffee & cookies. Easy walk across the bridge to plenty of shopping & restaurants. Will definitely stay here again if we are back in Duluth.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustJanet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
0.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 31 in Duluth
294 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#13 of 31 in Duluth
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Address: 701 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $151 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing