We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“a beautiful site for anyones memories in life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Pier Inn on the Canal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a beautiful site for anyones memories in life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I see that a couple is angry for the Dog thing that happened, but like they said themselves they did not read the rules of the Place and thus needed to adhire to the rules or go elsewhere, they made the choice to stay ad pay then asked for things to come back afterwards. Each time they made a decision it was up to them, they seem to write in discust weather by accident or thinking they would just sneak the dog in there are many , many more dof owners that did read the rules and leave their dogs away. The Vies are great, the Boats are some of the largest in the oceans and its the experience of a lifetime each time you see this historical city, view of the largrest Clean drinking water lake in the world, the most frsh drinking water in 1 place is the lake superior water. The Lift bridge is a historical site to see, I remember decades ago when you could go up on the bridge we did when I as small back in the 1970's and took the small boat tour in the harbor also. Can remember all it like it was yesterday. A lot of people sign up to be at these places to stay especially when they have 2 large 4th of july sites in and near the bay, its awesome and the August biker Jazz Fest in Early august is one of the best around, Duluth is quite the coty and it will remind you very mush of san Francisco with its brick streets and high roads like san fran in the edge of this Mn Mountain just on the south side with some of the best skiing you can have , may Olympic skiers have been on these Mountain runs for practice to make the Olympics and the train buffs and even surfers in the Summertime from all over the world surf the lake in June about 20 miles up from Duluth, the historic valus are endless and the feeling around Duluth is something you don't forget anytime soon, Many Olympic and world class events sports are held there The Curling champion chips are up there again this year in their curling arena the history behind the trains of travel and those used in the minning days some you can rent small cars for your own ride up near two harbors and ride back to Duluth. Your missing out in wintertime from things you can photograph that you will never see anywhere else in the world. and you also if camping in and near fuluth you need to know your in far northern MN and its very woodsy and there are bears and animals that like to be around once ina while if camping, so always be aware of this most places have cabins from trees huge that were buildt from that area. Enjoy your positive experience, enjoy the ships coming and going from this hotel your the closest one to the entrance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013Krenzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    80
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
51
228
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I spent a three night, midweek getaway at South Pier Inn. We booked a deluxe waterfront king (702, top floor): three room suite (living room, bedroom, bath), with a stunning, multi-window view of Duluth Harbor. Microwave, fridge, whirlpool, shower, tv’s in living room and bedroom, and gas fireplace.
Clean as a whistle, tastefully decorated. Wicked fast wi-fi.
There’s enough to browse in Canal Park (a short walk across the lift bridge), that we didn’t get much farther afield in the city. A few Canal Park stops we enjoyed:
The Northern Waters Smokehaus in the Dewitt Seitz Marketplace makes signature sandwiches to die for.
The Canal Park Brewing Company is a great stop for a local craft beer.
The shops up and down Canal Park were such a nice mix of speciality, galleries, camping, candy, decorating, dining, and antiques that one of us was always lost in a browsing haze.

The Inn offers a good mix of beverages and pastries in the morning, but we were enticed away to the Duluth Grill for breakfasts. Went there once based on it’s reputation and wound up going back every morning.
Our last night we ordered gourmet pizza from Vitta Pizza in Canal Park (highly recommend!), uncorked a bottle of wine, turned on the fireplace, and enjoyed the twinkling lights on the harbor.
The staff was uniformly terrific. A special shout-out to Brandon who met every request with humor, efficiency, and class.
The South Pier Inn is where we’ll stay in Duluth.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UpperMidwestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our first time at the South Pier iNN and it won't be our last. We were right on water ,in a huge living room with a fireplace and big Jacuzzi tub. Our bedroom was nicely done with great bedding and pillows. We were a one minute walk to the arial lift bridge and then another 3 minutes to all the shops and restaurants. We were so close and yet so far from the busyness of the commercial district. This will be our hotel of choice when we visit Duluth!

Room Tip: i can't imagine that there would be a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asc1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel took me by surprise. It was wonderful! The location couldn't be better -- right next to the lake -- within easy walking distance to the popular restaurants and shops.

When I first walked in -- I thought -- how can the hot tub be next to the window?. It is 40 degrees out and windy, surely it is going to be drafty and cold. But no! They use special windows that block noise and leaking air (they said the windows were the same kind that they use near airports to block sound). There was an easy to use fireplace that you turn on and off with a light switch. A balcony that you could sit outside and watch the bridge and ships. In room coffeemaker, and refrigerator too.

Also, I am a clean and smell "freak" I have moved hotels and rooms more than once because rooms have smelled -- this room was fantastic! No odor whatsoever and SUPER clean. This property definitely gets an A+

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loribelieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is our favorite place to stay in Duluth. Both my husband and myself are a big fan of watching the ships go through canal so this is the best location in the city. We also enjoy being able to walk to shops and restaurants in canal park. We usually stay in a waterfront suite however this being a "special event weekend" it was over our budget. We did stay in a balcony guest room. Excellent service as always from the staff. The weather permitted us to go outside to watch the ships go through canal. If you are on a budget the balcony guest room is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked a weekend in mid October, couldn't have been happier. The room was beautiful, the view was amazing, and it was in walking distance of all the great restaurants and stores in Canal Park. We had a canal view room with a fireplace and Jacuzzi, it was worth every penny. It was so enjoyable sitting in a cozy room, and watch the big ships go by. We didn't really take part in the continental breakfast, we were looking for something more sustainable to fill us till lunch. We cant wait to plan another romantic getaway!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here based on Trip Advisor ratings. Very nice rooms and bathrooms. The day was windy and rainy so getting to our room was a little wet as all entrances are from the parking lot. Continental breakfast was the best on our circle tour of Superior. Excellent coffee and pastries. Location is very close to many restaurants on Canal St. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Property: South Pier Inn on the Canal
Address: 701 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing