We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location on the canal.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Pier Inn on the Canal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
“Perfect location on the canal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

Clean, spacious rooms at a great price. Can't beat the location - the hotel is located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge. They offer wake-up calls for ship viewing, if desired.

Great service overall. Free Wi-Fi throughout and a free PC in the lobby.

If I was to go again, I would spend a little bit more and get a room with a canal view.

  • Liked — Location and value.
  • Disliked — Breakfast area was a bit cramped.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TeamARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    86
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
56
244
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

The hotel was very new and clean, and while our room did not face the water or the city (rather it faced the parking lot), there was still lots of natura light that came in through the windows and the balcony door. There was a just-okay continental breakfast served in the morning, but later on there were cookies and coffee in the hotel lobby, and a few tables and chairs set up where you could read the paper and look out at the Aerial Lift Bridge (the hotel is literally RIGHT next the the bridge - great location!). We were very happy with our stay there.

  • Liked — The bright, cheery room and the good location
  • Disliked — The girls at the front desk were a bit cold
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank slubatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redondo beach, ca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2008

Just returned from a stay of 6 nights at the South Pier Inn on the Canal in Duluth,MN.
What an awesome surprize to find this little hotel on about the best piece of property one could imagine!
We were as close to the Aerial Lift Bridge as one could be without being the operator. Of course, the view of not only the canal but of the hillside of Duluth was stupendous as we relaxed in our personal hot-tub in the privacy of our suite.
Our bed, including the linens, was one the most comfortable we have found in any hotel.
The daily 'serve yourself' refreshments in the little community room were a nice add-on th an already great experience.
Each one of the staff were very gracious & helpful. Visiting with some of the owners was also a very nice & personal touch.
We very highly recommend this little intimate hotel to anyone planning a trip to the Duluth area. We look forward to returning someday.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kathyRedondoBeach_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2008

Recently my Husband and I had the experience for a getaway that was long overdue. We had reserved the Panoramic view at the South Pier Inn. We were truly impressed from beginning to the end of our stay. When I had call the hotel, we had a young lady named Jamie who went above and beyond in handling our reservation and was very helpful with all of my questions. This was to be a get away for my Husband and I as it was much over due for the both of us. Jamie was very helpful with suggestions on what to do and where to go for a nice romantic dinner. Upon our arrival , we were greeted by a young man named Andy who was very polite and helpful. We never dreamed or expected to what we would have when we checked into this beautiful room. The view of overlooking Duluth Skyline, the Blatnik and Aeral Lift Bridge was spectuacular. It was just like being in San Fransico but having so much more right in our back yard. When we checked out the following morning we had the pleasure of meeting Jamie who had handled our reservation who delivered service with a smile and a fresh cup of cofee. As we sat in the lobby enjoying our continental breakfast we were fortunate enough to meet the owners as well. We are all ready talking about when we are going to book our next room for another get a way. People travel all over the world just to see this bit of paradise which is right in our back yard. It was truly a piece of Heaven on Earth.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank srainaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2007

What a delight to arrive at the South Pier Inn located right next to the Aerial Lift Bridge. From the friendly staff who welcomed us, to the rooms with out of this world views, to the delicious coffee and rolls awaitng us in the morning!

The views from the room are the finest in all of Duluth! The rooms are so close to the water, you feel like you're sleeping on the water! 1000 foot ships quietly sneak by with the glowing landscape of Duluth behind them at night. Rooms are very private, quiet and clean!

This was our 3rd time staying at the South Pier Inn and we're always taken well care of by the staff!

Can't wait to go back again next summer!

  • Liked — Great views!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WisconsinMomto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sartell, mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2007

This hotel has been the unquestioned leader in accomidations in the Duluth area since it was built. We have stayed here many, many times and have really enjoyed the view and the proximity to the canal. Unfortunately, this property is really beginning to look rough and is beginning to lack against some of the other hotels. We have switched rooms due to ripped up carpet, broken phones and very dirty carpet. Service was lackluster at best - being told to park in an accessible spot when we do not need it is uncalled for. The lack of communication with the customer has been a real problem in this trip - their wired internet access apparently does not work with Windows Vista and the pop machines here would not accept dollar bills. Both of these are not really a big deal if the client is told about them while booking or upon arrival. The staff seemed to have a poor attitude and didn't really seem to care - when we mentioned the malfunctioning pop machine, we go an "I heard about that" response from the staff. For the amount of money that we could have spent here, this was not up to par. We stayed one night and went elsewhere as this property and the staff are in need of some work. I spoke to some of the staff and new carpet is coming, which is really needed, but if the staff are as careless about the property, this property will quickly become another Canal Park Inn.

  • Liked — Best location in the area
  • Disliked — Incompetent Staff, Little Parking, Carpet condition is really bad - no bare feet! Needs wireless internet
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bfreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuluthTraveler218, General Manager at South Pier Inn on the Canal, responded to this review, December 10, 2008
Since the time of this review, we have added wireless internet access throughout the property. In addition, new carpeting has been installed in several of our suites. We strive to provide the best customer service possible, and are always working to enhance interaction between our guests and employees. We encourage our guests to give us feedback about their experiences with us, and appreciate all input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2007

This hotel was a refreshing surprise after being greatly disappointed with our original reservations at another hotel.

The owners were so kind and helpful, both over the phone and in person. We booked our room at 3pm on the Friday of Memorial Day and were surprised to find a free room for the weekend.

Although all the great water-view rooms were booked, we were pleased with a 'neighborhood-view' room. It overlooked the parkinglot and some trees and was located on the second floor. The room was a nice size, not too big but not too small. The bed was covered with a comfy duvet cover and we had 6 fluffy pillows. The bathroom was a great size, bigger than many hotel bathrooms we have used.

Our room had a nice sized fridge but no microwave. It also had free highspeed internet. There was a balcony to sit out on but since it rained most of our stay, we didnt really go out there.

The location is great - just a quick walk over the bridge and you are at canal park and have so many restaurants to decide from.

It was a great rate on the room - probably the same or cheaper than the other hotel we were booked at. A great rate on a great room!

We will definately be returning and booking a room with a view this next time. I cant imagine what the views are like and was so jealous of those rooms when I could hear the ship horns blow!

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — No pool.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rainbwblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#6 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#13 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Property: South Pier Inn on the Canal
Address: 701 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing