We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantabulous!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Pier Inn on the Canal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantabulous!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

From the minute you drive in, get out and walk into the lobby area you are very impressed. After a horrible night in another hotel in Duluth we were so relieved to find this little gem in the Duluth/Canal Park area. Our room was comfortable large with a balcony. The bathroom was large and spotless and I love the soaps they use.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the canal side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    78
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
50
224
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the South Pier Inn and it felt like coming home. We had stayed here for many years with our teenage son and all of us loved seeing the large ships come by right outside our window. We hadn't been back in 4 years and it did feel like coming home. Be sure to ask for a canal view room so you get to see the ships from your room. Be prepared for the warning bells from the lift bridge which has to be raised to accomodate the ships coming in or out of Lake Superior. We find the noise part of the charm. It's romantic to wake up at 3:00 AM to see a giant ship go right by your window as you lie in bed. It was quite foggy when we went to sleep and I got quite a picture of the bridge in the fog.

Our suite/room had a refrigerator, whirlpool, fireplace and binoculars to see the ships better! It was very clean with a small balcony. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 rating is that the air conditioning was not working very well and we had 95 degree weather! We told the front desk about it the next morning when we checked out and the woman was most apologetic and said she would get someone to look at it. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a canal view room if you want to see the ships up close and personal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyR697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great boutique hotel! CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN! Great views of the harbor and canal. Wonderful amenities (fireplace, hot tub, frig and microwave). Some suites with desks for business travelers. Easy access to main floor rooms - no steps. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlipFlopsForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is in the heart of Canal Park Duluth and is within walking distances to all of canal park and down town Duluth. It is kept very clean and comfortable. Lots of restaurants and shopping as well as a nice boardwalk along Lake Superior

Room Tip: No pool or fitness room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrmckeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I started staying at the South Pier Inn not long after they opened and always try to stay for our Anniversary there whenever we are in Duluth. The rooms are great and you can't beat the views of Duluth. I try to watch the ships going through the canal when the Lift Bridge opens and have seen many of the largest boats on the Great lakes here. It's within walking and biking distance from all the Canal Park attractions and restaurants making it PERFECT! We will always keep coming back! :-)

Room Tip: They are all good but the Harbor View rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whatthe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the South Pier Inn for two days, August 21 and 22nd in the panoramic room (602). One of the nicest rooms I've stayed in in quite a while with a great view of the lift bridge and the Great Lake freighters. The lift bridge is a mavel in engineering and I can't begin to tell you how many photographs of the bridge I took. The bed was nice, the continental breakfast was good and the staff was very friendly. We met the owner outside in the morning and she was very friendly and helpful. I booked this in advance before the shipping was reduced so the ships were scattered and mostly in the early morning hours but I managed to see them all. I do not write many reviews but this hotel deserves a great rating and if possible, put this on your list to visit. Since I go to Orr Minnesota every year from Ohio, I now have a place to return to in the future. Thanks.

Room Tip: The panoramic rooms offer great views of the harbor and the chanel. The second floor offered great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The lady at the front desk was very welcoming and nice. We stayed in a room that looked out towards the parking lot. It has a nice small deck to walk out on. The room was clean and well maintained. Nice location to walk to many different restaurants and shopping. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BreezeM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Property: South Pier Inn on the Canal
Address: 701 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing