We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the BEST!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
2 reviews
“Absolutely the BEST!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I went there for a weekend get away and it was AWESOME!! We went up to Duluth during the winter to see Bentlyville (the christmas light show) which was breath taking. Our room was so clean and wonderful, loved the spa tub in the room as well. We had a room on the second floor facing the canal and loved watching the ships come in and out. We were greeted with a friendly face at the front desk that gave us recommendations for activities and had hot apple cider and gingerbread cookies for us. :)

It was slightly spendy for us (Although we are recent college grads so everything is spendy for us) but the price of the rooms will NOT prevent us from returning. We talk about it all the time and tell all of our friends about it as well.

It was wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    90
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
61
262
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville MN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the South Pier Inn for our anniversary. We loved our second floor room, with a harbor view. Unfortunately for us, it was quite foggy, so we didn't get to enjoy the amazing scenery, but on a clear day it would be spectacular. The large windows, comfortable bed, 2 person jacuzzi tub and separate bathroom are all reasons we would love to stay here again sometime.
We loved how close the hotel was to Canal park and other attractions. Just a short walk (or car ride) away. My only negatives: the pillows were not that cozy to me, the soundproofing on the walls could be better and the continental breakfast left something to be desired, but overall we enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckyh516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, MN
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I had driven by this place once before and thought it was condos, until I read about it on trip advisor:), and have been in Duluth for work a few times the past 2 weeks and thought inwould check it out and this is now my favorite spot in town!. This is a great location, just a quick walk/drive across the draw bridge from canal park and a great spot right on the water in a residential neighnorhood. This hotel is only 2 floors and I really enjoyed the cozy and quaintness which you don't get from larger hotels as well as more quiet and private feel. Rooms are clean, imclude fridge, nice size bathroom, free Wifi and All main floor rooms are walk out and upper levels rooms enter through a door to the upstairs(no indoor hallway). I stayed on the main floor as well as upper, the upper is normally a bit more(though they offered me free upgrade weekday rate:)) and the upper floors rooms have a bit nicer decor and and also have private deck/balcony. Both times were parking lot view, which was the better budget choice but the other side is water view both walk out/ and upper with balcony, which would be my choice if going with partner or family( watching ships pass)

Room Tip: Depending on your budget, the upper level rooms are a bit nicer decor and include private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northshoregirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branch, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I wanted to stay someplace we had never stayed for his 'special Birthday' in May. We stayed here and had a suite on the second floor overlooking the harbor. Our room was breathtaking. We loved the large windows and private balcony to watch the ships coming in and going out. The hotel will even call your room during the night if you request to announce ship traffic if you don't want to miss anything. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The sunset was beautiful. Breakfast was fine for us with coffee, juice, fresh bakery pastries and yogurt. We would stay here anytime. Week nights are cheaper than weekends.

Room Tip: I would prefer the second floor with either bridge or harbor view. There are some rooms that just ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNGrandma55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Prairie, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We usually stay elsewhere in Duluth, but other places had a 2 night minimum over the weekend, and this place did not. The room was a little small, but that was okay, we spent most of our time outside. Bed was comfy, nice TV, mini fridge, and everything was clean. Basic continental breakfast, but it was good. Food and drink was also available when we checked in. Breakfast area faced the lift bridge, we watched a ship go through while we had breakfast. The doors to the rooms go directly outside, with parking next to your door. Good value for the money. We paid $118 (including tax) for a saturday night. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: In winter, get a room close to office. Shorter walk in the cold for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a one room suite with a view of the harbour, our recommendation. Great big windows, jacuzzi tub, shower, desk and everything you could want. Breakfast was OK. One small upgrade would be for down pillows. Just saying. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricL49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a gem of a place to stay when visiting Duluth MN, situated at the foot of the aerial lift bridge with awesome views of ships as they go by! High quality rooms with whirlpool and fireplace, very clean. OUTSTANDING staff from start to finish, including the general manager. I would definitely recommend South Pier Inn for a memorable romantic getaway!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radtech4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 33 in Duluth
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 33 in Duluth
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
1.0 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#14 of 33 in Duluth
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Property: South Pier Inn on the Canal
Address: 701 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing