We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Duluth - and we saw a snowy owl!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We loved the architecture and the amenities at this clean, tastefully decorated hotel. During our late February visit we were walking back across the lift bridge shortly before 8 PM. We looked up to see a pure white snowy owl fly overhead and perch atop the bridge. The golden bridge and the white owl were especially beautiful against the dark sky. It was a breathtaking experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 443 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is very clean, the hosts are accommodating, and the rooms are very nice. However...the beds are like sleeping on the deck of one of the freighters you see go thru the canal. Very uncomfortable, as are the pillows, and bedding.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place has well designed rooms to take advantage of shipping action on Lake Superior. Where else will they call you in the middle of the night if you want to watch ships go under the lift bridge? The continental breakfast is ample and there are many personal touches. It is a short walk across the bridge to food and shops in Canal Park and walks along the beaches can be entertaining year round.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I have made it a year end/anniversary tradition to stay at the South Pier. It is a very pleasant, clean, comfortable place and we've enjoyed a number of passing ships through the canal over the past number of years and a great December 24th storm one other year (a nice place to ride out and view Lake Superior in a gale). The staff is friendly, the rates could always be a bit better, but overall, we like it enough to come back at year end for four years now.

Room Tip: Go with the canal or bay side suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnphzhntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is my first choice when I'm in Duluth. Beds are always comfortable. Rooms are clean and properly appointed. The refrigerator is good for keeping smoked fish. Staff is casual, and always friendly and helpful. Best of all, however, is the inn's close proximity to the ship canal. You want to watch ore boats and ships? This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alleyraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We enjoy the south pier in very much! Great view and great location. Within walking distance to local restaurants, and antique shops alike. A quick trip across the lift bridge and you are right in the thick of downtown Duluth.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a water view.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was a nice stay, very cool to be right next to the pier. As we expected you can hear trafffic crossing the bridge at night and the room was fairly bright at night due to the bridge being lit up. This was not a huge problem for us, but I know some people need it to be very dark in order to sleep well. Those people might want to try the harbor side of the hotel.

The breakfast was well under par, coffee and donuts. I would expect more from ANY hotel charging over $100 a night. Speaking of the rate, check for a coupon online before your stay. We found one that got us the rate of $109.

I would reccommend this hotel to friends and family with the above mentioned concerns.

Room Tip: Canal side was great! But the room was bright, even with all the shades drawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahunter79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#3 of 31 in Duluth
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 31 in Duluth
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
1.0 mi away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#13 of 31 in Duluth
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Address: 701 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $110 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing