We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spring for a canal side room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Niwot, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“spring for a canal side room”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed a total of three nights - one night with a view of the parking lot, two with a view of the bridge and canal. Spend the few extra dollars for the good view and you'll be glad you did! The rooms are very light and airy, clean and modern, but what takes the experience over the top is watching the comings and goings of the ships and the incredible aerial lift bridge... it was very compelling. The breakfast was so-so, the only weak link in my opinion, but not a deal breaker. We had an issue with the air conditioning, and the manager fixed it instantly - thumbs up on the service. The location is excellent, in walking distance to plenty of restaurants and shops. If we ever go back to Duluth, the South Pier Inn is where we'll be, you betcha.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbear80503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    87
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
57
250
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Simons Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Not only is the canal view spectacular, but the room is so nice, it's hard to leave! With much to see and do in the area, the room was so comfortable I would have been happy just to stay there watching ships and relaxing. The bed was very comfortable, the low (TV) chair relaxing and the jacuzzi a nice plus. The bathroom was plenty big and had a small refrigerator. Nice little balcony to sit on and watch the ships coming through the canal and also a good continental breakfast. I look forward to returning for another vacation!

Room Tip: It's hard to decide whether to have a canal view room or harbor view room. There's a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventures60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Close to good local and national restruarnts. I did lots of ship watching as they entered+left the harbor. The hotel has a listing of when they will arive.Room was very clean, good TV, fridge and Free WI FI. Frount desk personel we always very helpful ;and had a lot of local info. So close you can just walk 50 yards and you can see the large ships arrive and leave..Always had lots of free coffee available in the lobby. Overall we were very pleased with South Pier Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KC traveler 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This inn was very comfortable, and in a great location on the canal in Duluth. We were able to watch the huge frieghter ships loaded with iron ore or taconite coming into Lake Superior from the Great Lakes. There is a giant lift bridge right there so when a ship comes in or goes out, the horn blows to alert traffic, and the bridge goes up over 100' to allow the ship's passage and it's a real treat to watch it pass. Those ships are so long and tall and big, they dwarf the inn. The people who run it are exceptionally friendly and you can walk to great restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a room on the canal side to watch the ships, on the other side to avoid the ships' horns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TukosMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knife River, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel is amazing. It sits just far enough from the others to be quiet, unique and special. The walk to Canal Park and the Lakewalk is minutes away. The staff is friendly, helpful, and the rooms are very clean. There are so many restaurants to choose from. We liked Grandma's and Lake Avenue. We will be back again

Room Tip: Pick a room by the bridge/bay side so you can see the Ore boats go in and out. It is like you can r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Location, location, location was fabulous. Our deck was only 75 yards from the lift bridge. That is what makes this hotel worth the money. Room was a little tired, but clean. For the price they could update a few things like the linens, grout in the bathroom tile and clean the spots in the carpet. Our room had two chairs but they did not match so it made me feel like it was not a "boutique" hotel but a run of the mill hotel. Just a few details would make the difference. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the fact that we could walk to restaurants and the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from a two night stay at the South Pier Inn. Room was average to above average, very nice and clean. The amenities were just average. No real bells and whistles, but still nice. View was fantastic! That's what makes this hotel worth the extra money. If you go to Duluth and want to experience twin ports and canal park, this is the place to stay. My only complaint was the WiFi service was pretty much non-existent. Even after having the front desk reset the router, we still had to sit in the lobby to get a decent WiFi connection.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BlackMurano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.4 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#9 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#5 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Pier Inn on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Pier Inn on the Canal

Property: South Pier Inn on the Canal
Address: 701 S Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802-2401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Pier Inn on the Canal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of the Aerial Lift Bridge adjacent to Canal Park, South Pier Inn is Duluth's premier shipwatching hotel. Our 20 waterfront suites each feature a whirlpool, fireplace and private balcony, offering breathtaking views of the Duluth harbor or ship canal. This family-owned property offers the amenities you'd expect in a much larger hotel, yet provides the level of service and attention to detail you'd only find in a smaller establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your South Pier Inn on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Pier Inn On The Canal Hotel Duluth
South Pier Duluth
South Pier Inn Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing